We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Mexican food in Colorado”

Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina
Ranked #28 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Voted Durango's 2010 & 2011 Best Mexican Restaurant
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Real Mexican food in Colorado”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife went to school here and she said there is a Mexican place that they went to 10 years ago and it was amazing...so I had to try it. The food and the drinks came out in lightning speed. Tried the gazpacho first and it was delicious. I then had the Santa Fe enchiladas and they were also great. The wife had tacos and she enjoyed them. Everything was great and would go back in a heartbeat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canniff9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    151
    68
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BEST EVER MEXICAN FOOD!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I enjoy Mexican food very much and over the years, have been to many. On past visits to Durango, CO, we have always made it a point to have dinner at Francisco's and did again this trip. Our friends also suggested we try Gazpacho, a new Mexican restaurant in town since our last visit. I can honestly tell you that Gazpacho served us the BEST Mexican food we have EVER had . . . even better than the "best" places in Southwest Detroit! It was amazing! Everything, including the service was excellent. The Gazpacho soup was extraordinary and it's a "must have" when you stop in at Gazpacho Mexican Restaurant in Durango, CO. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New Mexican Cusine North of the Border”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We love the great New Mexico style cooking like you find in Albuquerque and Santa Fe, but in general have not been able to find authentic New Mexican food since we have moved to Colorado. The exception is Gazpacho's Mexican Restaurant. They get many of their ingredients from New Mexico and don't water down the heat for the milder Colorado tastes. They even include sopapillas with honey for dessert! One of my favorite entrees is the Santa Fe Enchiladas. Layered New Mexico style and you can get the egg on top if you desire.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PurplePica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great "new" mexican!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Fajatias are awesome! wish they had out-door seating, but the service is always great. Margaritas are awesome too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Raillerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I will certainly take my family back!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The wait staff checked on our table several times just to make sure our water was filled and to make sure we had enough napkins - I think they saw what a mess my daughter was making.  The burrito I had was surprisingly good, very fresh and vibrant tasting, and my wife really liked her vegetarian dish.  We will be back for more margaritas, especially with the great service pushing them our way!
 

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiefbeefthief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing