We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pass this one by” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francisco's Restaurante - CLOSED

Francisco's Restaurante
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“pass this one by”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

There are lots of Mexican options in town. Pass this one by. The servers are required to announce themselves going in and out of the kitchen, and almost everyone was seated by the kitchen, in this completely empty restaurant. The food was oversalted, rice was overcooked, and for the price, this was not a place I would return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    72
    67
    49
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and decent meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had a fabulous margarita. I don't recall the name, but the waiter recommended it and it had grand marnier. My hungry teenage sons enjoyed the enormous meals they ordered. I had the posole, usually my favorite soup, and found it to be OK. It's unfair for me to give this Southwestern restaurant a "mediocre" review, because I tend to only like Sonoran or New Mexican styles. The service was fantastic and prices reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gl0balmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We've always made this a dining choice when in Durango and have never been disappointed. Dinner this trip was no exception. Not sure how they got halibut to this town a long way from the ocean, but it was incredible. Also had a New-Mex steak and enchilada combination dinner that for this lover of Tex-Mex food was a great meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffndallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing to enjoy here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Food was terrible (very bland) and the server was rude. Even my 14 year old nephews commented on both. There are great restaurants in Durango but this isn't one of them.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelesuzann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Walk on by!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is awful. Waitresses all have attitude. Food is out of the can/package taste. The only reason they are in business is they are close to the train station and people are hungry and don't know any better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dlafollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francisco's Restaurante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing