We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice dining experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Himalayan Kitchen

Himalayan Kitchen
Ranked #17 of 185 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
990 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Nice dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had the buffet here for lunch. I thought it was a very good value. The service at the table was excellent. The buffet had several meat and vegetable choices and a good basic salad. The restaurant had a very nice atmosphere. We would definitely come here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    100
    25
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The lunch buffet is limited but has the offerings everyone likes - Tandoori Chicken, Tikki Masala, Chicken Curry, saag. Today the place was packed; there were people who had to wait to get a table - unfortunately, that also meant that sometimes the buffet offerings would go empty before they were replenished. From a taste perspective, it was as good as it has been in the past and continues to be one lunch that's a must during our visit; however, we were a bit disappointed that the food was a bit scarce at times. We will still return :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaB_012331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great spices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose Nepalese dishes, and loved the spices! Good service, quiet place, large portions, table cloths, historic building. It felt like a nice dining place, with casually dressed diners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbug50000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ate here with while out on business. Ordered the Himalayan fried rice. Large portion sized meals and of course the food is very tasty. The waiter was great & very friendly. The only downside is the prices are a bit high. I would eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hotelman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, WY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“really tough lamb- raw tandoori chicken”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The food was 'ok'. The sauces were acceptable (definitely more Indian than Nepalese) but the lamb was really tough in the masala dish and at least one piece of chicken in the tandoori was raw. They advertised a special Cosmo made with Grey Goose and I watched our waiter (doubled as the bartender) make it with Absolut. When I asked him about it, he just laughed - not sure he understood me very well - and it was mostly cranberry juice anyhow. Overall I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank azrealle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing