We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken and dumplings!”

The Palace Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 210 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Palace Restaurant features classic American cuisine. Steaks, seafood, pasta, great sauces, homemade breads and desserts. You can elect to dine in our family-friendly Victorian tavern and order from our moderately priced tavern menu or sit in our elegant dining room and order from our fine dining menu. On our summertime patio, both menus are available. Our restaurant is located in a circa-1880 building and is styled with beautiful Victorian furnishings, such as dark woods and Tiffany-style lamps. Our dining room fire place makes for a romantic evening out in the winter and our tavern and patio are "local favorites." From casual to elegant, we provide a very special dining room experience, with great, classic food and a friendly staff. Please join us!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been coming here for more than 25 years. We return just for the chicken and dumplings. Now they offer a single serving per person which we like a lot. Ate in the bar for a “busier” atmosphere. Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Arizonapopi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 462 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2019

I was part of a large group and we wanted to patronize this place on a Saturday evening (during Snowdown). We sent a representative to the establishment in person earlier that day to see if it would be possible to get a reservation for our group.....we just wanted a place to sit and have some drinks. The staff member we talked to confirmed that it would be fine. When our group showed up later that evening, we found the restaurant empty and the doors locked with two other staff members inside just looking at us. Finally one staff member came to the door and told us that they had been closed for two hours and that the person who accepted the reservation was new and should not have done so . They also blamed us for not having left a phone number so that the restaurant could call and explain before we showed up. Nice sentiment but shouldn't the restaurant train their staff to 1) Know what the open hours are and 2) Ask for a phone number when taking a reservation?

I'm sure the food here is great but the poor service from the staff really messed up our evening. Will never give this place business.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MooreUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace2018DRO, Manager at The Palace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2019

On Saturday February 2nd, an individual ran into our restaurant to make a short notice reservation for 40 people to come into our restaurant after hours and play their marching band instruments. An inexperienced employee, caught off guard because we had another snowdown event taking place at the time and we were quite busy, made the unfortunate mistake in taking the reservation without a phone number or even taking a reservation for 40 people to play music after hours in our restaurant in the first place. It was an error all around and that is unfortunate. If we had had a contact number we would have called. Groups larger than 20 require a meeting with management to book events. We have never had someone make a reservation a few hours in advance for 40 people to show up after hours and play music or to even come in and dine with 40 people without having worked well in advance with a manager to plan their event. We are not a bar and we have hotel rooms above us. Apparently, this group had come into the restaurant the year prior but current management was unaware of this fact and would never have accommodated 40 people to play matching band music after hours in our restaurant. We made the executive decision to not stay open rather than accommodate a group of rowdy musicians and receive complaints from the hotel guests above us. When the band of 40 revelers appeared at our door, we apologized for the miscommunication, at which point their leader went into an expletive tirade. We made the right choice for our restaurant and the hotel we share a building with. There are plenty of bars in Durango that stay open till 2 am that could accommodate 40 party goers and our staff did not deserve being verbally attacked by an angry marching band.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019

When you think about a restaurant you think mainly about the food, but there are many factors going into the composite of what makes a meal enjoyable. We go there often, and have especially liked their ginger limed salmon meal. It is consistently excellent. The room, and the furnishings all contribute to a warm friendly feeling. Tonight we had Damien as our waiter, which topped off our pleasant evening. When your server has a friendly smiling face, is genuinely, wanting to ensure that you have a nice meal, and goes beyond just serving your meal, it leaves a great impression. Damien took the time to speak to the chef to get the answers to the specific questions about some menu items, so not only did we eat well but had a learning experience.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gmsheldon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

After our train ride we decide to have dinner at the Palace Restaurant (which is located next to the Train Station) - I had the Trout and my husband had Salmon - both dishes were good. Outside and inside eating - service was good.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

One has to pick up their train tickets the night before the train ride, so in town and this place is right next to the trail depot. They have inside seating and outside. We chose the outside and was not disappointed. Got to see the train arrive from that day.
Our waiter was very nice and prompt with out food. He tried to help with our drinks and our food order. I had the ginger salmon which was most delicious. It would have been a bit better if their had been a small potato on the plate. Only salmon and shaved ginger. Husband had the Tavern Steak that he said was very good.
Did enjoy the meal and the location.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing