We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

The Palace Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Palace Restaurant features classic American cuisine. Steaks, seafood, pasta, great sauces, homemade breads and desserts. You can elect to dine in our family-friendly Victorian tavern and order from our moderately priced tavern menu or sit in our elegant dining room and order from our fine dining menu. On our summertime patio, both menus are available. Our restaurant is located in a circa-1880 building and is styled with beautiful Victorian furnishings, such as dark woods and Tiffany-style lamps. Our dining room fire place makes for a romantic evening out in the winter and our tavern and patio are "local favorites." From casual to elegant, we provide a very special dining room experience, with great, classic food and a friendly staff. Please join us!
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Palace is my favorite restaurant. The food is so good. My favorite is the chicken and dumpling, they are so good. I would recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    142
    59
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We dined here after a day on the Durango/Silverton train. We were celebrating my boyfriends birthday and were looking for a quiet, intimate dinner. Our first table was not ideal so asked to be moved and the staff was more than accomodating! We had to wait as the other dining room was full and the original server brought over the gal who would be taking care of us to get us a bottle of wine. The food was excellent! We ordered filet and salmon, both were delicious! We had a berry crumble and chocolate mousse cake for dessert which were both devine. I can't say enough about the excellent service, atmosphere and food. Next time we are in Durango we will return and we will recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank landjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Location”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed sitting on the patio during a nice Fall day. The food was good and the service was acceptable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ewilkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food with Glueten free menu”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Palace is right downtown next to the train station with a beautiful dining room and patio. The food is outstanding and they had a great glueten free menu for my son to pick from for his meal. The service was outstanding and friendly. We ate here a couple of times during our short stay in Durango.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

It's sometimes difficult to get great choices at a restaurant for lunch. Yesterday, my husband had the chicken & dumplings, their signature dish. It was simply delicious, rich, creamy, plenty of chicken and dumplings lighter than air. I had the half-Reuben sandwich with a bowl of the locally-sourced creamed corn soup. Along with 2 ice teas the bill was $28. Lunch was plentiful and delicious. The food took a while to arrive at our table, but it was a busy lunch crowd. The staff was attentive. We may go back tomorrow to try other items. The location is also unique, as the restaurant sits next to the train depot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RVgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing