We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dinner and beer.”

Steamworks Brewing Co
Ranked #8 of 192 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steamworks Brewing Co. Opened its doors in Durango in September 1996. A favorite watering hole for locals and visitors alike, the brewpub has much more to offer than award-winning craft beer. Known as a town meeting place, Steamworks enjoys a bustling, fun environment. Steamworks' culinary program is unmatched in the region in both breadth and quality of offerings. The "gastropub" fare includes regionally-raised meats and sustainable seafood. Healthy salads, delicious pizzas, spicy Southwestern-style dishes, and vegetarian & gluten-free offerings provide something for everyone who's hungry. The Steam Engine Lager is "arguably the best American - Style Amber Lager in the world" as it has garnered four Gold Medals, a Silver and a Bronze Medal at the Great American Beer Festival (GABF) over the years and also has taken a Silver Medal at the World Beer Cup (WBC). Steamworks has won a total of twelve GABF medals, and two WBC medals. The brewpub maintains up to 18 styles of beer on tap.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner and beer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had to wait for 30 minutes for a table on a Saturday night, but the food was excellent. I highly recommend the Cajun broil....crab, shrimp, corn on the cob, potatoes and andouille sausage in a spicy Cajun sauce. It's messy to eat but absolutely delicious!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    544
    151
    58
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
223 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice place to start a Durango Beer Feast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Wow, This place is so busy which is a good sign. There were no tables available so I went straight to the Bar and was treat very well by the Bartender. The food portions were generous and I made a meal out of my Chicken Nachos. I order the Kolsch and was really enjoying how easy it was drinking and then the Spicy Nachos arrived and I moved up to the IPA and found a perfect partner for my Nachos. I bought a six pack of the Kolsch and love the colorful can with the Colorado State Flag on it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cookbookguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Flashes of Brilliance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Cool place with a laid back vibe. The food was good, pizza ran low on sauce & cheese, but the Mac n cheese was fantastic- the smokiness of the chilis really make it pop.
The beers were great- particularly those aged in barrels.

Definitely worth a try.

Helpful?
Thank Fins32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, Fun atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We visited Steamworks while visiting Durango on our family vacation this summer. My husband and I enjoyed a beer sampler, and tried several of the local brews. Our server was very knowledgeable about the beer, and made some good recommendations.

The kids menu here is really good. They had a shrimp boil that my 8 year old loved. It was a good size meal and the price was reasonable for shrimp and the amount of food she got.

My husband and I split the Cajun boil. It was seasoned well, steaming hot, and yummy!

My 5 year old loved the peanuts and that he could draw on the floor with the chalk the provided the kids.

It was a busy Monday evening when we went, but the service was good, the food was delicious, and we were pleased with the overall value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baconcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superior Pub Grub and Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Make this a stop on your next trip. Always a good experience. Pizza and salads are my usual fare, but everything is good. And the Third Eye Pale Ale has to be the best pale ale in the state (be careful! After 2 pints you'll know why). Pro tip, ask for the under the counter green chile sauce.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EsebanE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamworks Brewing Co also viewed

 

Been to Steamworks Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing