We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat in Durango Colorado”

Steamworks Brewing Co
Ranked #8 of 195 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Steamworks Brewing Co. Opened its doors in Durango in September 1996. A favorite watering hole for locals and visitors alike, the brewpub has much more to offer than award-winning craft beer. Known as a town meeting place, Steamworks enjoys a bustling, fun environment. Steamworks' culinary program is unmatched in the region in both breadth and quality of offerings. The "gastropub" fare includes regionally-raised meats and sustainable seafood. Healthy salads, delicious pizzas, spicy Southwestern-style dishes, and vegetarian & gluten-free offerings provide something for everyone who's hungry. The Steam Engine Lager is "arguably the best American - Style Amber Lager in the world" as it has garnered four Gold Medals, a Silver and a Bronze Medal at the Great American Beer Festival (GABF) over the years and also has taken a Silver Medal at the World Beer Cup (WBC). Steamworks has won a total of twelve GABF medals, and two WBC medals. The brewpub maintains up to 18 styles of beer on tap.
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Durango Colorado”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

No dislikes. Has the appearance of an old brew house, which is basically what it is. Great beer, great food, and great atmosphere. There was a short wait, but well worth it. My son had the waffles and fried chicken plate, which was unusual to have for dinner, but he loved it. Eat here, you won't regret it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aldrich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    575
    161
    60
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
socal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Craft beer and comfort food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very good selection of craft beer from lager to IPA and stout. Burgers were good as was the meat loaf. meatball sandwich pretty messy and hard to handle. Meatballs kept sliding off bun.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1ducatiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Becoming our fave.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Funny, especially given all the very good choices in Durango, how we just keep coming back here on our annual trips. It looks crowded around lunch time on weekends, but the wait was okay. The microbrew is great. SO had amber; I had a delicious stout. We split some pizza, salad and quiche and wolfed it all down. Service was great. I heard many of the employees have an ownership interest, which I think says a lot about the place. I liked how they priced the children's sodas.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bleicherblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Food, beer, and wait staff was excellent. We had the crab boil etc. The brew is a must try as well. his is a must go to if you visit Durango, CO.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ABQGal2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good casual food and drink near the train station”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Seems to be busy all the time, as July, 2014 was my second time here. Went for lunch at 1:30 ish and my party of 5 waited between 15 and 20 minutes for a table. I ordered the special of the day, a shrimp Po Boy, which was served promptly and tasted real good. For the beer lover you won't find a better place in Durango. My choice was the Hefeweizen and it was as good as any I have ever had, including Germany. Pretty high praise, I think.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamworks Brewing Co also viewed

 

Been to Steamworks Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing