We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food!”

Steamworks Brewing Co
Ranked #8 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Steamworks Brewing Co. Opened its doors in Durango in September 1996. A favorite watering hole for locals and visitors alike, the brewpub has much more to offer than award-winning craft beer. Known as a town meeting place, Steamworks enjoys a bustling, fun environment. Steamworks' culinary program is unmatched in the region in both breadth and quality of offerings. The "gastropub" fare includes regionally-raised meats and sustainable seafood. Healthy salads, delicious pizzas, spicy Southwestern-style dishes, and vegetarian & gluten-free offerings provide something for everyone who's hungry. The Steam Engine Lager is "arguably the best American - Style Amber Lager in the world" as it has garnered four Gold Medals, a Silver and a Bronze Medal at the Great American Beer Festival (GABF) over the years and also has taken a Silver Medal at the World Beer Cup (WBC). Steamworks has won a total of twelve GABF medals, and two WBC medals. The brewpub maintains up to 18 styles of beer on tap.
New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The atmosphere, the decor and the food was great! The variety was wide but the taste was awesome! We were watching what other people were ordering and everything they brought out looked delicious!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TweetyNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    832
    591
    169
    62
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food & Lots of beer choices”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch with a party of 15. They had us seated in 20 minutes, without a reservation. Lots of great food choices (the Santa Rita burger was amazing). Generous portions and very reasonable prices. Good selection on the kids menu as well. 14 different beer choices, all brewed in-house. The "Prescribed Burn", a chili infused lager, was amazing. Great atmosphere and service as well (Thanks Caleb!).

Helpful?
Thank Kirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brews and Food”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have many friends who recommended stopping by Steamworks, not only for the beer but for the food. They have a great selection of craft beers. I tried the beef and lamb gyro and it was wonderful! We were told that the Cajun boil is amazing, but that is served at 4:30PM.

Get there early as this place is always hopping. The first night we stopped in, it was an hour and a half wait and the bar was packed. We went back the next day around 1:30PM and snagged a couple of chairs at the bar. As I mentioned, this place is hopping so it may a few minutes before the bartender serves you, but it is well worth it.

This is now a staple brewery whenever we visit Durango.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheZimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
“Friendlist pub in town”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have lived near Durango for 33 years and until recently never went to bars to eat or drink. Then the micro-brewery and pub trend hit town, and now our single favorite social activity is hanging out at Steamworks. While Durango has several pub-style, family-friendly places and tastes vary, we prefer Steamworks for the quality and selection of their brews, the amazing dedication and friendliness of staff, and location. For lunch, the many-windowed sun room offers the best people-watching location in town. That same room is also very family friendly, with free peanuts and chalk for kids to do their art on the concrete floors. Older people, like us, feel totally comfy there. Singles, couples and other adults with or without kids can also choose to hang in the main bar area, where the atmosphere is pleasingly loud, busy, friendly and ... tons of fun. I hate TVs in bars and try to avoid all such places, but I understand their place as objects that socially awkward patrons can focus on, rather than staring at the bartender or into their beer. At least here the sound is turned completely off. I can't really rave about their food choices--more a matter of limited choices that appeal to me, though their Southwestern burger is, IMHO, the best in town. Big as it is, Steamworks frequently is crowded at night, and at lunch on weekends and during tourist season, so come early.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious, unique menu”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Steamworks has awesome food! I eat there often, and there is almost always a delicious soup of the day that pairs quite nicely with their unique version of a caesar salad. If I am feeling like a bit more, there are plenty of other great options and varying specials. The best thing about Steamworks is they make beer, and they make it right there! There are lots of beers to choose from, and you will always be able to find one to complement your meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytravelingnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamworks Brewing Co also viewed

 

Been to Steamworks Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing