We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive...but very, very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ore House

Ore House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ore House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 192 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Avenue
Transit: Trolley stop located right across the street.
Description: Established in 1972, the Ore House is one of Durango's oldest and finest restaurants. Featuring hand cut USDA certified Black Angus prime and choice steaks, steaks from ranches surrounding southwest Colorado, sustainable seafood, all natural poultry, seasonal local produce, and homemade desserts.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expensive...but very, very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had dinner at Ore House during our visit to Durango, and although it was a bit pricy, the food was outstanding, as was the service. Top-notch service, and everything from the salad to the main course was very flavorful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ijustdontknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    131
    70
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over priced and poor quality on food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Food quality is very poor for the price that you pay. Also music was very loud and service was poor. Had to ask a few times for sour cream also waited 15 minutes before drink orders were taken. Would not recommend anyone eat there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bek19885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No flaws”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

From beginning to end, this meal was spot on. The mojitos were superb as was the wine. My husband and I shared a shrimp and crab claw cocktail for our appetizer. Excellent! The mini corn muffins were delicious and the salad was fresh and tasty. The Ore House knows how to present a superior steak cooked perfectly. You can add on a particular sauce if you so desire. Finally, dessert.... The creme brûlée is actually a trilogy with three different flavors to delight your taste buds. Of course we had tiramisu as well, but we ended up taking it home because we were pretty full. I have to say the tiramisu was almost as wonderful as the tiramisu we ate in Rome earlier this summer. That is saying a lot! Anyway, if you want a truly top shelf meal, don't miss the Orehouse!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crz1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We ate here twice during our recent trip to Durango. Both nights the food was excellent. The crabs legs that my husband had were wonderful and so were the steaks. Great atmosphere and great service. I would eat here again if I was staying in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forrestersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Tx
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Made a reservation and table was ready when we arrived. Others were on a long wait. Good atmosphere, excellent service from the staff. My wife had the filet and said it was pretty good, needed more seasoning. The ribeye I had was good, not great. The sides were good, especially the Mac and cheese. The value was not there. We had a crab claw and shrimp appetizer, and it was small portions. The steaks being pretty good were not worth what we paid. One could expect this in a tourist trap town. But overall, it was probably the best we are in Durango.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ore House also viewed

 

Been to Ore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing