We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good, quickly made food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zia Taqueria

Zia Taqueria
Ranked #55 of 183 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We believe in simple, tasteful, authentic food with an atmosphere and price that feels good, warms the soul, and reminds you that some of the better things in life are quite simple.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, quickly made food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Just like so many other reviewers have said...it's like Chipotle...with tacos, burritos, and salads. This is a good thing, though! The menu is on the wall so you enter, read the large menu and order at the counter. You will walk through the line as they ask you what specifics you want on your order then pay/take your food at the end. Some of their food is locally sourced and they offer real sugar sodas, margaritas and beer to drink.

My order was just what I wanted but if you are unfamiliar with this place (or Chipotle), take a few minutes to stand back and read the menu board. There are lots of options and it can be a bit much while you are standing in line with lots of people or dealing with your kids to get a decent idea of what is offered.

This place was quite popular and busy while we were in town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelinWithTheKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
309 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best Fast Casual MX I've had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Tried to go somewhere else downtown, but it was crazy busy and as a lone biz traveler, I just wanted to getterdun. and I am SO glad I ended up here. This is a locally owned non-chain kinda modeled after the homogenized "big players" only with fresh-fresh ingredients. Found Zia across street from hotel after driving around town looking for something that wasn't over stuffed with people and wait times. I had the traditional rice and bean bowl with fresh grilled (in front of me) wahoo. The flavor, the portion, service and value were outstanding! Next time I am in Durango I will definitely return to try something else! You should too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VincePCTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wednesday night Blast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great ceviche tacos! They always have great food, but eh specials are unique and always fresh.
I like the south one the best, mainly because the parking is easier.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jacqueyiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

One of the surprises on our trip. The food was excellent, fresh and delicious. Didn't realize until we got back that there were two locations, and the one we didn't go to was right across the street from our hotel

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bckmn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

For anyone who likes Chipotle or Qdoba you really need to try this place. there are several portion sizes not the standard 13" tortilla only. Each of the meats comes in at least 3 different ways not the usual grilled chicken. You have a choice of 3 types of beans and unlike those other places they serve margaritas too!!! The kids are still talking about their meals here 3 days later....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zia Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Zia Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing