We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location and very nice rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Durango to your Saves list
Wyndham Durango
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   401 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Fairfield)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Off
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Walbridge, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and very nice rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was our second time staying here, and it was as good an experience as our first one. The rooms were clean and spacious. The kitchen had everything we needed. We only used it for breakfast as there is not dining at the hotel. Very quiet setting, although I love to hear the sound of the steam horn from the train in the morning! We will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
33
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Booked the hotel with another couple back in January for the Iron Horse Classic Bike Race in May. When we arrived at the Hotel around 6pm, the receptionist could not find us on the registry. She called her manager, and after 45 mins the manager stated that the hotel had been overbooked and that both rooms had been relocated to the Holiday Inn on the other side of town. There was nothing they could do for us because they “are booked up”. We were able to find another room across the parking lot at the Best Western. When we were returning from dinner later that night, we noticed that there was a different receptionist around 1030 that night. We stopped in and asked if they had any vacancy….”Of course we do, would you like a room?” Not good. Never staying there! Got a full refund 7 days later after 3 phone calls.

Room Tip: Go across the parking lot to the Best Western. Free drink coupons and breakfast. The pool is actuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainey618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darshana B, Manager at Wyndham Durango, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We are so disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff did not meet your expectations. Our Resort was overbooked durning this time frame. The booking engine that you booked through did reserve rooms for you at the Holiday Inn. Wyndham Durango does not have a 24 hour desk and closes nightly at 9:00pm. I can assure you that our resort was at 100% occuapancy. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and try our best to reach out to our guest when there are changes to thier reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My fiance and I recently stayed at the Wyndham for a week. We loved the size of the rooms, great living room/kitchen area and the bedroom off of the living room which was perfect size. The unit was perfect for the two of us! The kitchen had pretty much everything we needed, and when we needed other things the front desk had them in stock. The front desk was very friendly! I work at a hotel as well, and always expect friendly staff during the entire stay- and the staff was excellent!

The hotel was perfect location to the downtown area where shops and restaurants are located. Loved the Wyndham!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTravels1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We just got back from a 4 day stay. The unit is the size of a hotel room with another small room for a bedroom. The hotel room portion of the room has a livingroom, full (small) kitchen and dining table in one room. It also has a sofa bed that would make it hard to get around when opened. It is only a 1 block walk to the Durango/Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. It is also located in an area that makes walking to many of Durango's sights very easy. Plenty of quaint shops and restaurants within 3 blocks of the unit. The unit has a 24 hour laundry and exercise room. They also have 2 jacuzzi's on the roof. The Best Western, which is directly across the street, allows Wyndham guests to use there pool. The units are older and small and I would recommend getting more than one unit if there are more than 2 people, however, it will accommodate 4 people. If you stay at Wyndhams or Worldmarks this resort will be much smaller.

Room Tip: You will want to request an end room because they have a window in the dining area. As far as I kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steeler1mws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamesa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wyndham Durango is a small resort made from an older hotel. Wyndham did a wonderful job in restoring the property and it is very nice. Rooms are rather small but are OK for a shorter stay or if you don't mind being in a smaller, but acceptable, room. Stayed on the 2nd floor and the little seating area there is just great. Nice furniture suited for the area and very roomy. Kitchen has a small apartment size range/oven, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker etc.- it's just small.

The things that make this resort great are its location; within walking distance of old town shops and the train station and the staff. The folks working at the resort are just super. Friendly, accommodating and helpful - they are just great. Compared to most locations in Durango you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansuTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Small resort, right in town. Rooms were just right for my husband and I. Staff was extremely friendly and willing to please. Can't beat the town - good food, lots of great shops. Resort is right near the train station/museum, which was interesting. We drove the million dollar highway, which was beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monica0586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for providing such great feedback and information about the area. We are glad you enjoyed the resort accommodations and staff. We hope you come back to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua
Level Contributor
388 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wyndham Durango is a centrally located resort. You can park for free as a guest. And it is an easy 5 minute walk to the train station - where you can ride the historic Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad- so don't pay the $7 for parking at the Railroad station which is across the RR tracks near McDonalds. It was a nice, clean resort - not a bad room in there. There were a few things not up to snuff, though - a light bulb or two that was out and the broken chain that locked the glass balcony door. Overall a very enjoyable stay. it was close enough to walk to the main downtown restaurant area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delbe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Durango, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi Delbe,

Thank you for providing this great feedback including some helpful parking tips for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the resort location and convenience. We appreciate the information regarding the maintenance issues you encountered in your unit, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope you come back to visit for another relaxing vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#7 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#4 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Durango

Property: Wyndham Durango
Address: 401 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Fairfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing