We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lamesa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wyndham Durango is a small resort made from an older hotel. Wyndham did a wonderful job in restoring the property and it is very nice. Rooms are rather small but are OK for a shorter stay or if you don't mind being in a smaller, but acceptable, room. Stayed on the 2nd floor and the little seating area there is just great. Nice furniture suited for the area and very roomy. Kitchen has a small apartment size range/oven, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker etc.- it's just small.

The things that make this resort great are its location; within walking distance of old town shops and the train station and the staff. The folks working at the resort are just super. Friendly, accommodating and helpful - they are just great. Compared to most locations in Durango you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansuTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    15
    1
    4
See reviews for
37
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Small resort, right in town. Rooms were just right for my husband and I. Staff was extremely friendly and willing to please. Can't beat the town - good food, lots of great shops. Resort is right near the train station/museum, which was interesting. We drove the million dollar highway, which was beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monica0586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for providing such great feedback and information about the area. We are glad you enjoyed the resort accommodations and staff. We hope you come back to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua
Level Contributor
451 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wyndham Durango is a centrally located resort. You can park for free as a guest. And it is an easy 5 minute walk to the train station - where you can ride the historic Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad- so don't pay the $7 for parking at the Railroad station which is across the RR tracks near McDonalds. It was a nice, clean resort - not a bad room in there. There were a few things not up to snuff, though - a light bulb or two that was out and the broken chain that locked the glass balcony door. Overall a very enjoyable stay. it was close enough to walk to the main downtown restaurant area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delbe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Durango, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi Delbe,

Thank you for providing this great feedback including some helpful parking tips for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the resort location and convenience. We appreciate the information regarding the maintenance issues you encountered in your unit, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope you come back to visit for another relaxing vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Rooms are small but very nice. We will consider getting two rooms next time for our family of four. Check in was quick and information given was concise and useful. Loved having two real hot tubs on roof to use. Wish they didn't kick you out of the pool and hot tubs at 9 pm. Nice being able to walk to restaurants, shops, and the train. I gave the sleep quality only an average rating since you are right next to the train depot with all the noises of awaking trains.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenDiva84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Very nice small resort with very Profesional polite young people at service desk
wife and I were created with smells glade to have you enjoy your stay
Can we help you with your luggage
Did not want a tip young man said it was his pleasure to help us
Time share rooms a compact and complet with small balcony
Nice furniture and good bed
Perfect perfect for a 3 or 4 day stay in a very western town
Do not miss the Strater hotel visit and the Dimond Bell Salone
Plenty of restaurants and coffee shops in town to help enjoy this Rocky Mt High

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, Ohio
Level Contributor
287 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in June. The units are very complete, but small compared to other timeshares that we visit. They are well decorated.
This is a very nice small resort.

There is a very small indoor pool at the Best Western across the street. We could not use it since it was taken over by very small misbehaved
children.

The location is great. One can walk to all the main tourist shops and restaurants. The train is about a five minute walk.

Staff was very friendly, and the property is very well ,maintained.

Room Tip: Try to get a unit on the end since noise comes into the rooms easily from the units on each side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amiga9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
251 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Spent 4 nights on our way to the Denver area. The resort is small, no activities (maybe seasonal), but we were there to see area. The resort is near town for walking. Close to the Durango-Silverton Rail and many restaurants. The rooms are very clean, small (ours was pie shape with king bed) with space well used to have a dining table, couch, and kitchen area. Liked the open shelves under the Tv for storing cameras, ipods, and extra snacks. Two hottubs on the 4th floor and were in use form 4 to 9 pm. Staff small so very friendly. Quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CactusCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Durango

Property: Wyndham Durango
Address: 401 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5601 (Formerly Fairfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing