We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and old...”
Review of Wyndham Durango

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Reviewers have said just about all there is to say about the Wyndham Resort.

The location is about as good as you can find it is accessible to the train and all of the old downtown area one could not ask for more.

But the room…

The room is very small. We were accompanied by a 17 year old. She slept on the sofabed and when it was opened any space that was there vanished. This room is simply too small for three adults. The space problem could be partially alleviated by replacing the old out moded over-sized, cumbersome furniture. One example is in the bedroom where it was so tight you cannot pull your airline carry-on roller bag between the bed and armoire you must lift it and turn it sideways to get by (think about 14 or 15 inches) you must turn sideways yourself to get through too. The reason is that there is a massive headboard and foot board to the bed and simply removing the footboard alone would give one some room to get around. I’m thinking it is a no-brainer to at least improve some things.

The air conditioning is outmoded and could be improved upon. General housekeeping was okay but we were quite put-off by finding a used dried coffee filter complete with dried up coffee in the coffee maker. Yuck.

For two people there is probably enough room as long as you are still speaking to each other.

We aren’t certain we’d return. The rooms at Wyndham Pagosa are much better. But that is about 60 miles from Durango, a much more interesting place to stay.

Room Tip: As always stay away from rooms near the elevators. It isn't just the noise from the elevators i...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelertoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Durango
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

can't beat location. room very nice but small for more than two people. very clean, fully equiped, comfortable king bed, easy and pleantiful parking. stayed a full week, very good "home base" to visit area attractions. impressed with staff and management. will return.

Room Tip: fourth floor provides view, breezes, close to two hot tubs.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat0pata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We spent the week of 3/19/2012 in Durango. Purgatory (Durango Mountain Resort) is about 25 minutes away, Wolf Creek is 1 1/2 hours and Mesa Verde Park is 25 minutes. It's a great jumping off point for any of these major attractions. The resort itself is situated right in old downtown and is very convenient to restaurants and shopping. the staff is very friendly, the accomodations have been recently updated so are relatively well decorated. However, the rooms are small and cannot be considered luxurious nor somewhere you would want to "hang out" in the day. You are going to Durango to be in a good spot and be outdoors, I don't recommend this hotel for lounging and relaxing. Also, the week we were there the HVAC was out all week (so we had to leave the sliding door to the balconey open all day) and the phone systems were all down. Not an issue as we only use our cell phones anyway and were skiing each day all day.

Room Tip: higher levels the better - - -resort has 4 floors
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watergirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We spent the MLK weekend at Durango, with the intention of skiing the whole time. We are owners at Wyndham, and have enjoyed many other resorts.
Due to injuries sustained last year, I was unable to spend the weekend skiing, but that might have been a blessing in disguise. There was not any new powder at Purgatory, and therefore, many of the slopes were icy according to the folks I spoke with. We did end up doing the inner-tube sledding at Purgatory, and that was a lot of fun.
The location of the hotel is fantastic - really within walking distance of anything downtown, and right next to the historical railroad. I cannot stress enough that this is the place to go if you want to be near shopping and attractions in Durango. It also shares the pool, hot tub and sauna facilities of the Best Western, right across the road, and that is a super addition.
The rooms themselves are bigger than a standard hotel room, and have a separate bedroom for the adults. We stayed in a "deluxe" and had a jetted tub. There are 2 hot tubs on the 4th floor roof, open to the outside air. The rooms are tastefully decorated, and pleasant. The furniture is a little tight, as the rooms are wedge-shaped, so the armoire is very close to the bed. The kitchen is functional, but small, and has the smallest dishwasher that I have ever seen. There is a free washer and dryer on the first floor, and a basic gym.
All in all, a really great location, and kind-of small rooms. I would highly recommend the resort, and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfairborne2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Older building, but fantastic location-- within walking distance to everything in downtown. Staff is extrememly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Wyndham in downtown Durango was a great location. We drove to our destinations each day, but each evening, it was nice to able to walk to have dinner a drink, and walk back to the hotel. The rooftop hot tubs were fantastic after a day of skiing!

Room Tip: Our room was small, but more than adequate for the two of us.
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Drift_Woods3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

we booked 2 rooms in july, one for my wife, daughter and i. the other for my wife's parents. the rooms seemed to be refurbished lately and were adequate. with so much to do in the area we were not in the rooms much. location is great for walking downtown which is a plus because parking is scarce. everyone at the front desk was more than helpful. no timeshare sharks which was nice. a great place to eat is tj's smokehouse, which is right behind the resort. best pulled pork sandwich i've ever had. overall a very satisfying vacation.

Room Tip: top floors are quieter, plus they are closer to the hot tubs on the roof
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winterhater83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#11 of 33 in Durango
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.2 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
0.4 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#23 of 33 in Durango
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Durango

Address: 401 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5601 (Formerly Fairfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Price Range: $185 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing