We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value - lots of choices!”

The Original Durango Dawg House
Ranked #62 of 192 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great value - lots of choices!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Local hot dog joint with great service and lots of hot dog/sausage choices. I personally love the Chicago Dog & poutine (French fries with cheese curds smothered in brown gravy)....plenty to share....yummy!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This dawg will hunt. Great food.”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

For starters, it's a hole in the wall but there is a sign out front so it's not to hard to find. My buddy and I went there on a whim and it was a great choice. The young guy behind the counter was was attentive and quick. Changed his gloves several times which is nice to see. The dogs were fantastic. The "Southern Comfort" has bacon, cole slaw and pulled pork with sweet baby rays. The "BLT" was exactly what you'd expect with very fresh toppings. Highly recommend for a low key lunch in Durango. Only seating is outdoor but weather was awesome today so seating was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dustinlnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best hot dogs/fries when needing a quick lunch!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Loved the guy running the place. He came across as wanting to go out of his way to do anything for you. Which was so unexpected for a little hot dog stand! Also, loved that they have a program where you can "pay it forward" and buy a hot dog for someone in need. We will stop here every time we are in Durango!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank greenlimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
165 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good quick dog in Durango”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hole in the wall but we had been hankering for a good dog. Got a common and a reuben dog for wife and both were very good. Location was convenient and the service was prompt and friendly.
If you are doing the Durango walk and need a dawg go to the Original.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Durango Dawg House also viewed

 

Been to The Original Durango Dawg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing