We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“missed opportunity”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ska Brewing Co.

Ska Brewing Co.
Ranked #34 of 192 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "It takes characters to brew beer with character." Brewing in Durango, Colorado since 1995. We call it a tasting room because that's what you'll want to do here. Flagships, seasonals and unique beers that only a few ever get to try-they're all on tap here for your tasting indulgence. It's a modern-day tasting room experience with a casual food truck culture. Make yourself at home. Grab a seat anywhere you'd like, check out the upstairs, join the community, start a conversation-make new friends! There's beer at the bar and vittles at The Container of Food. If you're unfamiliar, we're a manufacturing facility. We brew beer-a lot of beer. We put it in cans and bottles for sale around the globe. There's a lot going on here! If you want to learn more, we offer free tours of our fantastical 100% wind-powered brew fortress at 4p Monday through Saturday. Oh, and there's a beer garden too! With green grass and delicious food. All the makings of a pretty amazingsome day.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“missed opportunity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We really wanted to try this place but it didn't work out. I couldn't find food information on their web site, and the hours are limited. It's half a block up the hill from Homewood Suites Hotel (in the industrial park). The eating area is fairly small, it almost looks like an afterthought to the brewery, i.e., a place to get a quick bite and brew when you get off work. The pizza/sandwich/1 salad menu did look intriguing, though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    48
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, MS
2 reviews
“Wings and Beer Good Female Bar Staff RUDE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our first visit. Arrived at 6:45pm on a Saturday night (closes at 7:00pm). We just wanted a snack and a few beers. Our party of four sat at table waited but no one acknowledged our arrival. Went to Bar to ask for assistance was told by young Female behind bar, doing her best to ignore me, "we're closing soon". Looked around Brewery clearly packed and pizza guy still making pizzas. Asked if we ordered food from her or just beer. She pointed to the back of Brewery where pizzas are being made in wood oven and said "you can order over there but we are closing soon", (she must have had somewhere to go). Pizza guy very friendly and accommodating when I asked if it was too late to order food he said "No not at all". Ordered one order of Jerk Wings and three beers. Beer nothing special, wings were good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xxaabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding beer a few minutes from downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I sampled the wide variety of draft beers with the reasonably priced sampler. There is a wide range of styles and all were truly outstanding within their class. Staff was friendly and explained the different varieties. Only 4 stars as food menu was limited and the item we chose (dip with pita chips) was just so-so. The tasting room is adjacent to the brewery, so ambience was slightly off, like being in a warehouse.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Go. You won't regret it. Beer, ambience, food, and staff -- outstanding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We love Ska Beer, but sadly can't get it in Indiana, so that means when we are in CO, we hit up Ska every time. The building interior (and surrounding decor) are unexpected and fitting, the food is terrific (both years in a row, different items), and the staff is super cool. This year we tried the BBQ and Brick Oven Pizza -- wow -- wish I could've brought some of that home. The Modus Hoperandi (IPA) continues to amaze us, so much that we bought a case from our kind server, and if you are into grabbing beer souvenirs, Ska has 'em -- stickers, coasters, you name it -- and they are well priced and well made. Try it!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravelteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Beer&Pizza Combination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

On a road trip to the Mesa Verde National Park we stoped at the Ska Brewing Co in Durango, because it was my friend's favorite beer. We got 2 sample of five beers each (on small glasses to be able to try everything, of course) and got a free sample too. So it was 11 types of beer to try. Some of them was really bitter for my taste and surprisely, the free shot was my favorite: Wheat beer. On that day (end of July 2013), their restaurant wasn't working yet, but they was making a survey with the clients to see if the food and prices was apropriate. I got this pizza with Feta Cheese and Mushrooms. OMG! The best pizza ever!!!! I really, really, recomend.
Oh, and of course they make their beer there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Violabrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ska Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Ska Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing