We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good, nice view”

Balcony Bar and Grill
Ranked #71 of 192 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty good, nice view”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stopped here for lunch. The burgers were fine. We tried the pulled pork nachos. Aside from being almost totally unlike nachos due to the BBQ pulled pork (advertised) and some odd dressing (not advertised), they were pretty good. They really should leave off the dressing, but it had a healthy helping of guacamole. Nice view of downtown. It's a decent place for lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    37
    18
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“ Worst meal in Durango”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch. We ordered margaritas that tasted weirder than anything we've ever had anywhere. Very little if any liquor in the drink.

Service was good but the food was ultra lousy. I ordered the Cajun chicken sandwich and it didn't even taste Cajun and it was so fowl - pardon the pun - but I couldn't eat it. The server was gracious enough to take it off our bill. Therefore the one star rating - otherwise it would be a zero star rating for our experience.

We believe it is probably a popular spot on the corner due to the live music each evening. It draws a younger crowd. If you want to get LIT – you may want to try doing that on bottled beer. If you try doing it on the margaritas you may be there till morning!

The tater tots were very good but it's the first time I've ever made a meal of tater tots.

Helpful?
2 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
“Review”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I liked the live progressive and traditional bluegrass music. The food is good and the service efficient. We had a great time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DRGWRGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, laid back atmosphere and simple, good food.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After a long days traveling, all we really wanted for the evening, was to sit in the sun, drink a cold beer and have a good dinner - The Balcony really delivered. If you're after a smart sit down dinner, go elsewhere - this seemed like a locals bar, though we (clearly tourists, with the hats and cameras!!!) didn't feel unwelcome in any way. We had chicken baskets and nachos, both were great, tasty, good portions, delivered quickly. Beers were cheap, as were the margaritas. Best thing for us though, was the view - very happily sat and watched the sun down down on main avenue with the sun on our faces. Bliss. Would highly recommend!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Char30888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I are locals and we used to go to The Balcony when it was El Patio and had different owners. The food and service was good then. Recently we brought some friends from NM to The Balcony. It was 45 minutes before anyone came to our table! And when a waitress did finally show up and we mentioned the wait, she became very rude, almost irrate with us! It was unbelievable. I was humiliated in front of my friends after bragging about how fun the place was when it was El Patio. The food is horrible, we couldn't even eat the dried up pork nachos, service is horrible and management wasn't much nicer than the waitress.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Stormy19870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balcony Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing