We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great Pub.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BREW Pub & Kitchen

BREW Pub & Kitchen
Ranked #29 of 183 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located directly across the tracks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Rail Road (D&SNGRR) with views of Smelter Mountain, and Hog's Back ridge in the heart of downtown is Durango's newest Brew pub. We focus on the using the best possible ingredients for our beers and our food.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great Pub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This pub was located closed to the hotel where we stayed. It is located closed to the Durango and Silverton Narrow Gage train station. The food was good. We started with their stuffed jalapenos appetizer which was rated the "best" at the Durango Culinary Festival. Their butter milk fried chicken was one the best I have had. It was crisp and moist served with mashed potatoes and steamed vegetables. I highly recommend it. Their version of the Cuban sandwich was very interesting; but good. It was served with French fries. The French fries were excellent. The beer selection was impressive.

Unfortunately, our server didn't have a great knowledge about the beers they brew. But she was an excellent server.

Yes, I will go back and try some of the other dishes offered on the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MMasumoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    53
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
223 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best Happy Hour in Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is a great place for Happy Hour. $3 pints and all the beers are made for on-premise enjoyment. The server told me that the beers rotate and that they rarely repeat the same recipe and that the brews of the same type often have a subtle difference in taste. The service was great and the bartender was very knowledgeable about he beers and the menu. The food was very good, I loved the Wings but the Pickles had too much beer batter on them. Maybe instead of a spiral cut the Chef should cut into strips and make Pickle Fries that are easier to cook and eat? Just a thought! I had aGreat time and I loved the beers......Prost

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cookbookguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waco, texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

The beer was not impressive at all. The waitress was super nice but did not know much about the beer she was serving. I was expecting more.

Helpful?
2 Thank jpstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding upscale Brew Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This place has something for everyone at a very reasonable price. Don't let the train horn and word "upscale" scare you off. We enjoyed a nice sampler of their beers, amazing roast beef hash and sesame sea bass. Their menu is really designed to complement their craft beers which is very enjoyable. Staff is super friendly, down to earth and attentive. Don't miss this brew pub on your next visit to Durango, CO.

Helpful?
Thank Michele68P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Co
2 reviews
“Most exciting new resteraunt in Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Ate here on 7-19-2014. First ordered the red ale easily second best red in Durango (behind Ska Pinstripe) ordered the fried pickles and pork belly poppers. The fried pickles were good with a spicy thousand island sauce only bad thing was they were curly cut making if difficult to dip. The Pork belly poppers we so amazing I could eat these all day! Try these! Then got the sesion beer which has a nice smoky taste to it and then got the Cuban sandwich. It was so good! Perfectly cooked pork shoulder and ham with a grilled french roll and a horseradish mustard that makes you take notice. The only downside is the window is open so the trains horn and smoke will blow in but im a local most tourist will love that! Best new resteraunt in Durango for sure

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank superextempman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BREW Pub & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to BREW Pub & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing