We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Asian Stop in the Rockies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rice Monkeys

Rice Monkeys
Ranked #14 of 184 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Fusion Asian Bistro w/ sushi & many different varieties of rice bowls and noodle bowls
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Asian Stop in the Rockies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Even though the cooks are not Asian, the food is very good and you can taste the "love" in their efforts. I live in the area and I find that this place is what makes my family happy. Expect to pay about 20.00USD per person as the menu is vast and the portions are plentiful. DRAWBACK: not enough seating for a party above 3+...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaymus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    29
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Yummy fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Pad Thai with shrimp was awesome! Fresh ingredients and wonderful flavors! Also had a spicy tuna sushi which was delicious! The only problem with this place is that it's too small! You have the best food, but you need a bigger place, more tables. People see how crowded it is and walk away....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Junebug15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Loved this place! Nice small restaurant with great staff, amazing sushi, and awesome prices. We ended up ordering more than we could eat and had tons of left overs to bring home. I thought the bill was going to be much higher, but I was very surprised with how reasonable it was!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
163 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Salmon in Durango!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Salmon Sushi Throwdown! We ordered Sushi To-Go from all three Sushi restaurants in Durango the same mid-week night. We choose to compare our favorite Salmon Rolls/Sashimi from each (listed below by price.)
* East by Southwest – Salmon & Lemon $16.00
* Sushitarian – Super Salmon Roll w/avocado $14.83
* Rice Monkeys - Tiraditos – Salmon Sashimi w/citrus & chili $14.00
* Rice Monkeys - Southwestern Roll w/Hamachi, Salmon & avocado $13.50

Specific comments are listed by restaurant under their own heading. So, you’ll need to check all three reviews to compare comments.

Order & Pick-up
• Rice Monkeys: prompt, well-experienced, knowledgeable, efficient & expecting our pickup
– 5 stars (WINNER)

Taste & Presentation
• Rice Monkeys: excellent fresh taste, perfect balance of creamy & citrus flavors. So good, we didn't even need soy or wasabi! We fought for the last bites. Beautifully presented (they even had more stylish plastic trays than the others) – 5 stars (WINNER)

Price/Value
• Rice Monkeys: Lots of tasty sushi for lowest price. Would definitely reorder these dishes
– 5 stars (WINNER)

We enjoyed the head-to-head comparisons of our Salmon Sushi Throwdown. We would encourage others to try their own Throwdowns.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoBeerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I always leave here feeling great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I can really tell the chefs and staff that work here love what they do and I really matter as a customer.
The sushi rolls are fresh and full of flavor. The crispy pork roll appetizers are so savory and satisfying.
I also really enjoy the hot sake and large beers they have available.
The beef pho was a little flat in flavor the day I tried it... but after half a dozen visits I am extremely happy with the quality, freshness, service, and value of Rice Monkeys.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ski0boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rice Monkeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing