We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended By A Local” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rice Monkeys

Rice Monkeys
Ranked #13 of 183 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Fusion Asian Bistro w/ sushi & many different varieties of rice bowls and noodle bowls
tucson, az
Level Contributor
164 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended By A Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

On the recommendation of a chef friend who lives in town, we had lunch at Rice Monkeys, uber cute SMALL place. Now the only reason that she suggested this place for us at all is that we’re from Hawaii and this is the stuff we like to eat.
We started with the regular (not the spicy) Edamame to snack on while we awaited the main attraction.
Sautéed Sesame Beef and Chicken Teriyaki rice bowls, very ONO (that’s delicious in Hawaiian).
I couldn’t get a snapshot of the chicken bowl because by the time I got my camera out, DH had eaten it ALL!! And THEN started on my Beef too! (check out their menu online, they offer noodle bowls and sushi too)
We were in town to visit with my chef friend and we do so every so often; I promise you we’ll eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doni-lei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    27
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Skip the old-line joints. Rice Monkeys' FTW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a very small sushi/fusion joint with cramped seating and a noisy, tokyo-like ambiance.

The fried egg rolls with sweet chili sauce were excellent, as was the beef pho, and dragon roll on my last outing. Every meal I've had there has been fantastic, and the waitstaff are very friendly and accommodating.

Just show up a couple minutes before they open, this place fills to the brim in about 5 minutes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Score of a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Sushi and Pho~such a great combo. All the food was fresh, service was friendly and prompt. A welcome end to a long day of adventure :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank yogini1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have had nothing but great food at Rice Monkeys. One of my best meals was ordering a seaweed salad, the sweet potato shrimp crunch(a MUST have) and a salmon roll. Their soups are truly amazing! I've had a few of their sushi rolls and all have been really good. The only drawback is the small size, but I've always had fast and friendly service. Delicious! Don't miss out! If you like good, traditional sushi and some interesting dishes with some kick, check them out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food Every Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Rice Monkeys provides excellent, consistent high quality food, with creative specials that are a new delight each week. Unlike other reviewers from out of town who seek quantity, we relish and appreciate the emphasis on quality ingredients Rice Monkeys provides. If you want fresh, inventive, appetizing food prepared with care, this is the place. Some of our favorites include the Hamachi Love roll, Ceviche, Saigon Bowl, Spring Rolls, Lemongrass Beef and Chirashi. It's all good and we love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dgojill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Monkeys also viewed

 

Been to Rice Monkeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing