We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent food, great services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rice Monkeys

Rice Monkeys
Ranked #14 of 183 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Fusion Asian Bistro w/ sushi & many different varieties of rice bowls and noodle bowls
Durango
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have had nothing but great food at Rice Monkeys. One of my best meals was ordering a seaweed salad, the sweet potato shrimp crunch(a MUST have) and a salmon roll. Their soups are truly amazing! I've had a few of their sushi rolls and all have been really good. The only drawback is the small size, but I've always had fast and friendly service. Delicious! Don't miss out! If you like good, traditional sushi and some interesting dishes with some kick, check them out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    27
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durango, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food Every Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Rice Monkeys provides excellent, consistent high quality food, with creative specials that are a new delight each week. Unlike other reviewers from out of town who seek quantity, we relish and appreciate the emphasis on quality ingredients Rice Monkeys provides. If you want fresh, inventive, appetizing food prepared with care, this is the place. Some of our favorites include the Hamachi Love roll, Ceviche, Saigon Bowl, Spring Rolls, Lemongrass Beef and Chirashi. It's all good and we love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dgojill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“meal price...appetizer size”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went in for lunch today and had the special. It was delicious and there were a sufficient number of shrimp. But served on so few noodles that the meal had the look and quantity of an appetizer. Limited uncomfortable seating. No plans to return

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Felschurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy N, Owner at Rice Monkeys, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Sorry about the bad experience. This is the first time we ran an appetizer special and we should have done a better job at informing that it was an appetizer. Hopefully you would come back one day and try one of our menu entrée bowls and maybe at that time we would be fortunate enough to have a bigger space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Little spot with great big taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you like finding that little "hole in the wall" that delivers on flavor and authenticity, here's your spot. We had just gotten back from SE Asia and were missing the fresh food you get there. Rice Monkeys is like having SE Asia in your backyard! The sushi is awesome. The spring rolls...fresh. The lemon grass beef over noodles...tasty and flavorful. And all reasonably priced. You know it's a good place when you have to wait for a spot to sit. But people come in and out pretty quickly so you won't be standing too long. Definitely worth a visit and for us, it's become a regular place to go when we don't want to cook for the evening! Love this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JodySueF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exotic, powerful, and satisfying flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Tiny place, but I'm sure they'll go bigger as the popularity rises. Delicious thai food, the sushi is probably the best in town, and their menu has a little bit of everything for everybody at a decent price. Take out was just as good as the dine in. Love it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rice Monkeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing