We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super interesting, informative, and enjoyale” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum

Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum
Ranked #13 of 64 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super interesting, informative, and enjoyale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Forty years ago I would have spent a lot of time floating down the beautiful Animas River. But that is no longer feasible, so my wife and I found lots of other enjoyable things to do in/around Durango. One of the very best of those was our visit to the Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum. We visited the Museum first, and were met at the door by a staff member named Ron. Honestly, he was one of the most helpful and informative people we've ever met. We both love wildlife, geography, and mountains. Ron was a treasure of information. The Museum is small, but is full of mounted native animals, as well as fish. There's a really interesting 8 minute video on how the hatcheries raise the fish and distribute them to the local lakes and rivers.

Then we went outside to see the fish being raised. It was a blast. Not only did my wife and I enjoy it, but we thought about how much our grandkids would have loved it.

Really, don't let anybody talk you out of this one. It is a great way to spend a couple of hours learning, and having fun doing it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    41
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
escondido
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great family fun and education for free!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Large concrete pools with small, medium and large trout. Buy food for a quarter to cause a feeding frenzy or if you're lucky an employee will give you some. Don't miss the huge trout in the pool buy the parking lot. Educational plaques all around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank russ w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bring the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great exhibits and knowledgeable volunteers. I enjoyed feeding the fish. This is great for children to learn about the outdoors.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem next to the Animus River - FREE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband suggested this and we all really enjoyed it including my son who is 12 with limited attention and my daughter who is 17. You start by going in the little museum which has a large number of stuffed local animals for an upclose look. Then if you make a donation, they will give you relatively good sized cups of fish food which you can then feed to the fish of all sizes.

You can also buy fish food at the machines by the fish but you dont get that much.

Its fun walking around and seeing all the fish and the different sizes they are raising. And when you feed them them really congregate. We enjoyed it and had the added bonus of two deer there on the ranger's property while there.

You can also walk from there over to the Animus River and see the rafters and walk over the river on one of the walkways which parallels the train tracks.

A fun, short, FREE attraction!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SanDiegoMom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvaton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our 6 year old grand daughter did not want to leave the Hatchery...she loved watching the baby trout that are later released to the river and lakes. It's close to downtown and easy to find.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pennyemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum also viewed

 

Been to Durango Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing