We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dinner”

Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations
Reserve with OpenTable
Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 192 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Located inside the Silver Pick Lodge
Blackpool
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

A great restaurant in the mountains with great views - if you get seated on the east side of the restaurant. Our group all elected for "small plates" which were more than adequate. I had seared salmon with a wonderful risotto, very enjoyable. The waiter was a bit 'stiff' and we had to wait quite a while for our food - and diners who arrived after us were served well before us.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    28
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
172 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“"Lovely Surprise"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Don't be misled by the name..it sounds iike it could be a pub somewhere...not so! It's a "white tablecloth", fine dining establishment located in the Silverpick Lodge just outside Durango near Purgatory ski area. Between Durango Mountain and the Old Schoolhouse pizza place, there's not much of a selection of places to eat in the area. We were staying a couple of nights up the road at Cascade Village and had already had a "digestive disaster" at Purgy's on the mountain..and it was a two-hour wait at the Schoolhouse, so this was our only option. It turned out to be delightful.
We had no reservations, but we were graciously given the last table available. The restaurant was rapidly filling due to the "Music on the Mountain" event that evening.
The menu is a bit upscale, so be prepared for that, but the kids will be welcome and can find something to make them happy.
The decor is warm and inviting and tastefully done. The restaurant has three different seating levels for dining and has a half circle bar for overflow diners! There is a huge, multi-colored "ski pole" mobile hanging from the ceiling - quite unique! We were seated on the middle level and the large floor-to-ceiling windows on the level below us provided a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains.
The kitchen (partly visible from our level) and the wait staff appear to operate like a well-oiled machine. It was a frantic, but organized scene with servers moving quite quickly from table to table..and still able to provide personal service to each table. I was impressed. This is apparently a big wedding destination area and I understand Sow's Ear does the majority, if not all, of the catering for the events. I would imagine they are accustomed to the level of activity we observed that evening.
We ordered the spinach/artichoke appetizer and it arrived "de-constructed". It was sort of a "build-your-own" arrangement, with artichokes, crispy spinach bits along with the dip, accompanied by warm pita bread. It was a bit different, but quite good. My pecan-crusted Rocky Mountain Trout as a huge portion, but beautifully presented and quite delectable. It had lots of flavor without an overpowering "sauce". There was plenty to share. The risotto was a bit "stickier" than I like, but that did not detract from the overall experience. One other adult had ravioli in a non-red sauce, while one of the kids also had ravioli, in a traditional red sauce. There were no complaints from either person. They also have an extensive wine list.
Overall, it was a delightful, satisfying dinner in a lovely setting. On our next visit to the area, I would certainly consider staying at the Lodge. It's in a beautiful location and appears to have a number of amenities for the guests...even a game room for the "kids'!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Excellent restaurant right down the street from Purgatory ski area.
Great food, drinks and service. I've eaten at the bar and at the restaurant and had great food both times, the bar is a little more casual with a smaller menu and the restaurant has some great views of the surrounding mountains.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty, pricy, small portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Typical of higher end resort restaurants. Nothing special, wouldn't hurry back. Decent service and wine list

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1ducatiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice dinner with the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Had a great meal with the family. The restaurant is very nice, had a nice view from our bay window looking up the mountain. My wife and daughter had the filet, my son had the burger, and I had the ribeye special. All our meals were delicious. The only reason for no 5 stars is the service was a little slow considering the place was about 30% full. Would I go there again? In a heartbeat, great wine selection, just be a little patient.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations also viewed

 

Been to Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing