We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the Mountain”

Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations
Reserve with OpenTable
Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Located inside the Silver Pick Lodge
Mancos, CO
1 review
“Best on the Mountain”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The food is great and the view are spectacular. Waitstaff was friendly and very attentive. We had burgers from the bar menu and they were some of the best I've had in long time!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sierra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    32
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plano, TX
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top notch dining experience”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was far and away our best meal in our week at Durango. Every part of the meal was exceptional. The restaurant has nice character and great views. Service was helpful and attentive all night. All of the food we had was outstanding - from the before dinner rolls to the trout and filet main dishes to the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies for dessert.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilki2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for the rich!”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had just arrived at our condo after driving 14 hours. We were famished. We drove a little south of our condo and found the only place we knew about was the Sows Ear. Phenomenal food, great atmosphere but a hamburger for $11? It only came with fries. Don't get me wrong it was great but....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OU4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and location in the mountains”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Enjoyed a spectacular evening at the Sow's Ear north of Durango Colorado. The food was exceptional, both in presentation and taste! The view of the mountains and the sun setting on the peaks was breathtaking! We can't wait to return!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mongoose10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Order a Burger, It might be ok”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Dined twice at The Sows ear over the past holiday, and both experiences were mediocre at best. On the first trip I had ordered the Elk Loin off the bar menu. The sides and sauce were fine but the loin it's self was a four oz gristle laden over cooked (ordered rare) tail piece of the loin after attempting to chew through one bite, I sent it back. Our server hesitantly told me there was nothing she could do since I ate half of the entree, What??? The chewed up piece of inedible meat was still on plate. There was no discount no offer to buy a cocktail or dessert on the house egregious at best. I ended up splitting a burger with one of our guests and over all it was quite good.
On the next visit I ordered a salmon which was promptly spaced by the kitchen and showed up 20 minutes after the rest of the meals. The fish was fresh and properly prepared, however the sauce a shrimp ettoufee, was broken and way salty the shrimp were over cooked. Rock shrimp by the way are almost impossible to overcook, but these guys can do it.
If I return it will always be a burger. They try hard but seem to fail when they venture out of the box.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations also viewed

 

Been to Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing