We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Just a note of warning if you stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just a note of warning if you stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Went fishing in Durango and stayed here. The hotel is very nice though somewhat pricy, though they all are in Durango in the summer. Ask for an upgrade to a corner room with a fireplace. Lots of room and the fire is nice in the winter.
The warning is about the restaurant, and the warning is... Don't Eat There!
The food is terrible, the service unspeakable and it is way overpriced.
There are some great restaurants in Durango like M and J's, and even the Durango Diner for breakfast, so get in your car and find one. If you're lazy like we were, you'll regret it. We did.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    57
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
64
68
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
114 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This Holiday Inn is better than most I've stayed at - new, modern, very nice, with good staff. When I checked in, I asked to for a room with a balcony and got it, which I was very happy about because the views from the balcony were pretty nice and I got a chance to spend some time out there relaxing. The prices here during high season are high, however they are very similar to other comparable hotels in Durango BUT they are much farther from Durango center. I stayed here on points and got great value and will stay here again. I was able to walk to town, which you can only do from a handful other (more expensive) hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigGFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We stop here in Durango overnight on our way home. Must say this is a very clean hotel and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. It has a sports bar and grill on the bottom level. Its close by the historic downtown. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cygnus100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stopped in Durango for 2 nights on a road trip and as always with holiday inn the hotel was in pristine condition and very well kept. This is a beautiful brand new or nearly new hotel with many amazing amenities such as it's pool and sports bar. Main Street was only a 5 minute walk from the property. The only downfall was the view from the back of the building where our room was. It was nothing but a wall of dirt. Overall great stay great service and nice hotel. I would highly recommend this.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the front of the building if a view matters to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_sea_is_calling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I liked the fact the Holiday Inn in Durango was new, clean, a great place to eat, and very helpful. Front Desk Clerks are friendly and the night auditor Elandra was very friendly and helpful. If your staying in Durango I would recommend the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodGuy7773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We went to Durango for the fourth of July which I would highly recommend what a great time downtown for all! We stayed one night at the Holiday Inn and while it was OK since it was free on our points it was not great. First off when we checked in usually since we are platinum members we get a gift at other Holiday Inns but not this one they did not even mention it. They were friendly but seemed very distracted. The room was a king suite and it had a fake fire place that was cool looking but since it was in the 90s we just turned on the light to see it but did not run the heater. There was some mud on the kitchenette floor so that made you think they had not vacuumed from the last customer. The beds were comfortable the pillows were a little flat and we had a room on the 4th floor all the way to the end so it was quiet. The bath vanity was very small but the shower was nice and big no tub. Also a plus is that they have the magnifying mirror for us old ladies that is always a good thing. It think the room rate for the night would have been $259.00 and I have stayed in a lot nicer places for that amount. It is not far from downtown which is a plus if that is your destination. Again when we left they just took our key did not ask if we had a good stay again just seemed distracted and not interested. When we go back to Durango we will look at staying elsewhere if we don't have points to do it for free or almost free.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chele263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear chele263,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent one night here on an eight-day Colorado National Parks/Monuments trip. Check-in was smooth and we were given a lovely room with balcony overlooking the mountains. Then we joined a wine tasting offered by a knowledgeable lady who told us about local wines and culture. Front desk staff told us how to get to local places and made suggestions for dinner and entertainment. All-in-all it was a great stay in a fun town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCdocsGreenville_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Address: 21636 Highway 160 West, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2013 Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing