We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great facility...!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great facility...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Great front desk staff who took the time to call me when my room was ready since I arrived early! Bed is firm and comfortable. Room was very large. Good coffee in lobby and in room. ...The view from the room was great. Extra Large shower.

I really don't have any negative comments about this hotel at all...! The only suggestion is since this is a ski area facility they might should have put dressers with more drawers to hold a bunch of bulky ski clothes.

You won't regret staying here!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PilotFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

We at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango thank you for your comments. We are pleased that your stay was pleasant and your experience was a great one. It is our sole responsibility to ensure that our all of our guest have the best experience possible during their stays with us. We apologize that the dresser drawer space was not as adequate as you would have liked. During your next stay ask our front desk agents about our spacious luggage room. We allow for guest to use this area for their ski equipment and it is in a secure area o the facility in which only management or hotel staff have access to. The Holiday Inn & Suites thanks you for your patronage and look forward to accommodating your in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    72
    27
    9
    12
See reviews for
73
84
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We traveled to Durango the snowy weekend of Dec 7th and thanks to Holiday Inn in Durango our trip was amazing. The hotel was BRAND new, super clean, great lobby, friendly staff, beautiful rooms, and yummy food and drink.
Our trip to Durango was for the Polar Express...we traveled with our friends and we all stayed at the Holiday Inn. The train ride was magical and our hotel stay was beautiful with the snowy veiws and awesome service.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony and remember to use your room key to turn on the room lights...just an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

The Polar Express is an event and experience in and of itself. We here at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango are pleased that you experience was also manifested in your recent stay with us. We take great pleasure and pride in creating an environment of enthusiasm, exceptional customer service and guest satisfaction. We are pleased to know that we are living up to that pledge. Again we thank you for your comments and your patronage and we look forward to accommodating you during your next visit to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed a night here to ride the Durango Polar Express train. We requested and received two adjoining rooms which worked out really well for having our son and family with us. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They provided a shuttle service to the train.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We here at the Holiday Inn & Suites off Durango are thrilled that we delivered to you exactly what we pride ourselves on during your recent stay wit us. We are pleased we were able to cater to your needs with the various hotel accommodations that we extend to all of our guest during their stay with us. We thank you for your comments and your patronage and look forward to becoming your hotel family during your future stays in the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nicest hotel I have stayed at in Durango. New hotel, clean and well appointed rooms. Sporting News Grill, food and service was exceptional. Also it was a short walking distance from the hotel to the downtown shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
As always we appreciate the feedback that we recieve from all of our guest. We are pleased that you found our hotel to be exceptional in terms of service and that our found our location and amenities fit your needs. At the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango we take great pride in providing our guest with excellent customer service as a staff and management team. we as a staff thank you for your patronage and we hope that you have found a new hotel family whenever you travel to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here two nights on either end of a day of skiing at Durango Mountain Resort. It is not really walking distance to any of the downtown Durango attractions, but we were visiting in the winter anyways so that was OK. The staff was nice, the hotel appears new and modern, and the pool and hot tub were great. Rooms were large, clean, and simple. $94 per night AAA rate. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABQTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
We here at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango are pleased to know that you were as pleased with your stay as we are with having had the pleasure to accommodate you. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with all of or guest. We're sorry that you did not find our location to be adequate in proximity to historical downtown Durango. During your next visit please feel free to inquire about our complimentary shuttle service. Its a quick and easy way to get you to all of the downtown attractions that our guest love. We thank you again for your feedback and your patronage and look forward to being your future hotel family when you travel to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a very new property. So it has all the pluses of a new hotel but also some of the drawbacks. The most important being no free breakfast. The restaurant in the hotel is of the sports bar variety. I ate dinner and breakfast there and found the breakfast was better than the dinner. At dinner I ordered the grilled salmon. Now if you only grill the salmon on one side which side do you serve face up? Wrong!! they served the un-grilled side face up, or how about grilling the fish on both sides?? I also ordered a side of grilled asparagus. I got five stalks of asparagus for five bucks, three of which where edible. Aside from the nit picky stuff at dinner the Denver omelet I had for breakfast was great! The staff at the hotel was terrific and the room was clean and had all the upscale stuff: fridge, microwave, coffee maker fake fireplace . When I'm in Durango again I'll stay here

Room Tip: Get one facing the back of the property they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THETRUTH1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We thank you for your feedback as we take the approach that feedback is a gift. We apologize that our hotel does not offer the complimentarty breakfast feature unlike our IHG sister properties. During your next reservation process in preparation to stay with us please do inquire about our rate that includes breakfast. This would include breakfast for two our previous guest that have taken advantage of this option love it. We ae pleased that as a guest you felt we lived up to the very high standards of customer service that we set forth for ourselves.
We apologize that we fell short of your dinner expectations. We take great pride in making the stay of all of our guest as complete in every aspect of satisfaction as possible. I will share your comments with our food and beverage director and staff members who will be sure to make improvments in all areas of your concern. Again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you during your next stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

While I read some negative reviews about this Holiday Inn, I booked this hotel based on the fact that a recent review said it had that "new hotel smell". Good, affordable, comfortable stay in Durango. 2 min drive from Main Street. Room was huge with a sink area, microwave, desk and faux fireplace. Room was immaculate and true to previous reviews, the hotel did smell new.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango. We are pleased that you found the comfort in our guest rooms and with the amenities that we offer in all of our guest rooms. Our housekeeping staff takes great pleasure in making sure that all of our guest are able to feel at home upon entrering their rooms. I will be sure to share your comments with them as well. We thank you for taking the time out to share your thouhgts with us and we thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Address: 21636 Highway 160, Durango, CO 81303-6807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2013 Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing