We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Polar Express Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Rio Rancho
2 reviews
“Polar Express Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We traveled to Durango the snowy weekend of Dec 7th and thanks to Holiday Inn in Durango our trip was amazing. The hotel was BRAND new, super clean, great lobby, friendly staff, beautiful rooms, and yummy food and drink.
Our trip to Durango was for the Polar Express...we traveled with our friends and we all stayed at the Holiday Inn. The train ride was magical and our hotel stay was beautiful with the snowy veiws and awesome service.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony and remember to use your room key to turn on the room lights...just an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

The Polar Express is an event and experience in and of itself. We here at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango are pleased that you experience was also manifested in your recent stay with us. We take great pleasure and pride in creating an environment of enthusiasm, exceptional customer service and guest satisfaction. We are pleased to know that we are living up to that pledge. Again we thank you for your comments and your patronage and we look forward to accommodating you during your next visit to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    67
    27
    9
    12
See reviews for
70
78
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed a night here to ride the Durango Polar Express train. We requested and received two adjoining rooms which worked out really well for having our son and family with us. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They provided a shuttle service to the train.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We here at the Holiday Inn & Suites off Durango are thrilled that we delivered to you exactly what we pride ourselves on during your recent stay wit us. We are pleased we were able to cater to your needs with the various hotel accommodations that we extend to all of our guest during their stay with us. We thank you for your comments and your patronage and look forward to becoming your hotel family during your future stays in the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nicest hotel I have stayed at in Durango. New hotel, clean and well appointed rooms. Sporting News Grill, food and service was exceptional. Also it was a short walking distance from the hotel to the downtown shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
As always we appreciate the feedback that we recieve from all of our guest. We are pleased that you found our hotel to be exceptional in terms of service and that our found our location and amenities fit your needs. At the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango we take great pride in providing our guest with excellent customer service as a staff and management team. we as a staff thank you for your patronage and we hope that you have found a new hotel family whenever you travel to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here two nights on either end of a day of skiing at Durango Mountain Resort. It is not really walking distance to any of the downtown Durango attractions, but we were visiting in the winter anyways so that was OK. The staff was nice, the hotel appears new and modern, and the pool and hot tub were great. Rooms were large, clean, and simple. $94 per night AAA rate. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABQTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
We here at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango are pleased to know that you were as pleased with your stay as we are with having had the pleasure to accommodate you. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with all of or guest. We're sorry that you did not find our location to be adequate in proximity to historical downtown Durango. During your next visit please feel free to inquire about our complimentary shuttle service. Its a quick and easy way to get you to all of the downtown attractions that our guest love. We thank you again for your feedback and your patronage and look forward to being your future hotel family when you travel to the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a very new property. So it has all the pluses of a new hotel but also some of the drawbacks. The most important being no free breakfast. The restaurant in the hotel is of the sports bar variety. I ate dinner and breakfast there and found the breakfast was better than the dinner. At dinner I ordered the grilled salmon. Now if you only grill the salmon on one side which side do you serve face up? Wrong!! they served the un-grilled side face up, or how about grilling the fish on both sides?? I also ordered a side of grilled asparagus. I got five stalks of asparagus for five bucks, three of which where edible. Aside from the nit picky stuff at dinner the Denver omelet I had for breakfast was great! The staff at the hotel was terrific and the room was clean and had all the upscale stuff: fridge, microwave, coffee maker fake fireplace . When I'm in Durango again I'll stay here

Room Tip: Get one facing the back of the property they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THETRUTH1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We thank you for your feedback as we take the approach that feedback is a gift. We apologize that our hotel does not offer the complimentarty breakfast feature unlike our IHG sister properties. During your next reservation process in preparation to stay with us please do inquire about our rate that includes breakfast. This would include breakfast for two our previous guest that have taken advantage of this option love it. We ae pleased that as a guest you felt we lived up to the very high standards of customer service that we set forth for ourselves.
We apologize that we fell short of your dinner expectations. We take great pride in making the stay of all of our guest as complete in every aspect of satisfaction as possible. I will share your comments with our food and beverage director and staff members who will be sure to make improvments in all areas of your concern. Again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you during your next stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

While I read some negative reviews about this Holiday Inn, I booked this hotel based on the fact that a recent review said it had that "new hotel smell". Good, affordable, comfortable stay in Durango. 2 min drive from Main Street. Room was huge with a sink area, microwave, desk and faux fireplace. Room was immaculate and true to previous reviews, the hotel did smell new.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango. We are pleased that you found the comfort in our guest rooms and with the amenities that we offer in all of our guest rooms. Our housekeeping staff takes great pleasure in making sure that all of our guest are able to feel at home upon entrering their rooms. I will be sure to share your comments with them as well. We thank you for taking the time out to share your thouhgts with us and we thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golden, co
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I read the other reviews and was slightly concerned about my stay, but everything was largely excellent. The property is still very new, so everything is clean and in great condition.

You have to love the fridge & microwave in the room! Coffee maker came with two pkgs (ea. Decaf & Reg). The HD flat screen TV actually came with HD TV service. There was a full channel listing of 2 1/2 pages of channels.The room was decorated with local art and the halls had an absolutely wild carpet design. Only a couple of small note on the room: there was only one phone (does anybody actually use those anymore, except to call the front desk) and the towel rack was not over the toilet, but in the shower. The phone book in the room was from May of 2012. Internet access was great. Desk had no drawers or stationary, the Hotel and Durango area specifications were in an unmarked 3-ring binder. All the hotels do seem to have the tiny pillows on the beds, but I got 5 (for my King).

The staff was super friendly. I had shipped a couple of pkgs to myself and there they were waiting for me at the the front desk when I checked in. The entrance to the hotel parking lot off the Hiway was not well marked, but you have no problem seeing the hotel.
I did not eat in the restaurant.
I did go to the pool/spa. Clean, kept up nicely, with some cool, blue lights in the pool and Hot Tub.
I'll be back next spring

Room Tip: I try to avoid being on the "Highway side" of all hotels, but this Hiway doesn't seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockyrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_Holiday_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
The Holiday Inn & Suites of Durango would like to thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you found delight in the numerous amenities that we have to offer for all of our guest. From the decor of the hotel and spa area to our spacious rooms. We are happy that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful as we take great pride in delivering world class customer service to all of our guest. Again we thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay and look forward to making your next visit with us as memorable as your last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Address: 21636 Highway 160, Durango, CO 81303-6807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2013 Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing