We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Durango hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel while visiting Durango with a friend.
This is a new hotel and they appear to be excellently managed. Our room was awesome, very spacious and modern. Housekeeping, the front desk and really all the staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Had excellent suggestions for the local night life. Loved the pool and hot
tub area.
Oh, also the attached cafe was yummy!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunnyLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 285 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I recently rode our motorcycles from Denver to Durango to meet up with some friends and we booked our 3 night stay here. The desk staff at this hotel were the BEST we've encountered in ANY HOLIDAY INN! They were very friendly and helpful with going the extra mile with shuttling our group downtown every evening and suggesting great places to dine at. This hotel is newer and does not offer the free breakfast that the express locations do but the rooms were very nice and clean. I loved that they had make face wipes in the restrooms as they came in extra handy after a long day of riding our motorcycles. We will definitely be back to visit!

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony are much larger then the other bedrooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the HI Durango. It was near everything but not really in walking distance of the train station due to having to cross busy streets. Staff was great. The restaurant service was slow so if you are in a hurry you probably want to eat elsewhere. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Phil567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Newer hotel, very large rooms. It made all of the other hotels we stayed at on our vacation look dull in comparison. I also loved that they decorated the hotel and rooms with photographs from the area, very nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crissy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place was overpriced and did not offer a breakfast as they called themselves a "four star, full service hotel". The room was no different than any other 2 queen bed motel room at a modestly priced motel and the service was comical or non-exsistent.

Housekeeping seemed to be unable to recognize that there were three persons in the room and provide us with three towel sets and three coffee cups. We had to call the front desk for more on every day during our three day stay.

The evening desk clerk was very good at trying to fix the problems. He even brought up towels and coffee cups himself. However if they were genuinely a 4 star hotel, this should not have been necessary.

The cafe attached to the hotel did have some good reasonably priced food. They did have a very good TV in the room. These were the only redeeming qualities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Carol M,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our night staff and the television.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding housekeeping. We will look into this. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Slightly away from the hub-bub of the downtown area, nice and peaceful. We enjoyed a luxurious two-room suite with two 36-inch TVs, a big comfortable king-size bed, mini kitchen and a restaurant next door. I would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Don't use Google to Search for the name of this hotel because it will send you down the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ready2GoTravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked 3 nights in a suite. Room was very nice with a great view of a dirt bank (our room was to the back of the hotel.) When I booked the room the website said it had a balcony but this one didn't. I made no issue of this since we were actually in the room very little during our 3 nights in Durango. I'm a member of the Priority Club and this is the first Holiday Inn I've checked into that didn't offer us complementary water at check in. Don't know what's up with that. We had no issues with the room or hotel during the stay but see the reviews for the in hotel sports bar. This place is in need of a Bar Rescue. They don't offer free breakfast either but if they did and it was in the attached sports bar/restaurant I'd have to pass on that although I have come to expect the free breakfast to be included with my room. Kind of one of those things I look forward to at the Holiday Inn. Clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidebite252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
0.2 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Address: 21636 Highway 160, Durango, CO 81303-6807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Price Range: $92 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central. Opened in 2013, we are Durango's newest full service hotel. Our 100% non-smoking property has all the amenities you need for business or family travel. Our attached restaurant, Westside Pub & Grill, serves cooked to order breakfast, lunch, dinner and drink specials. Conveniently located off Hwy 160 West, we are minutes from downtown. Be sure to visit Southwest Colorado and enjoy Durango with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing