We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a nice visit at this hotel. We were first given a room that the door would not shut/lock..they quickly moved us to a new room. The customer service was nice and complete. They did only have 3 towels in a room for 4 people and found that odd. We visited the pool (strong chlorine smell like most indoor pools) kids had fun. We visited the on site restaurant and had low expectations due to prior reviews..but food was good and service was nice. No problems at all. Another reviewer complained about the hard mattress, I found it was firm, but very comfortable. Room was clean! Location to down town great for us...our visit was during the week and after 6:00 you can have street parking for free..great town and very good hotel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tg_teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    75
    29
    11
    12
See reviews for
78
85
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

OVER PRICED. You can get more for less at other hotels in Durango.
YOU ARE GUILTY UNTIL PROVEN INNOCENT. They charge your credit card the amount of an additional night's stay until they get around to making sure you did not trash the room. Then a few days later if they deem everything is all right they have the charge removed from your credit card. I wonder how much money they make on the float for this scheme. I have never encountered this before and find the whole thing insulting.
NOT CONVENIENT to downtown Durango. Wrong side of the river.
NO SHUTTLE SERVICE.
DO NOT TRY TO WALK TO DOWNTOWN DURANGO. The sidewalk dead ends at the Animas River bridge and you have to risk your life running across a busy four lane highway to a sidewalk that will take you downtown.
If you drive downtown you have to PAY TO PARK if you can find a parking space.
Stay somewhere on the Durango downtown side of the river. Leave your car at your hotel and walk to the stores, restaurants and railroad. Avoid the hassle of a dangerous walk or finding and paying for parking. DON'T STAY AT THE HOLIDAY INN!
BREAKFAST IS NOT INCLUDED. If you have money to burn and are on a diet you can pay through the nose for a stingy meal at the onsite restaurant.
My advice is to stay somewhere on the Durango downtown side of the river convenient to downtown (there are plenty of places) avoid all the above hassles and if breakfast is not included eat at Oscar's.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amarante C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Amarante C,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. It sounds like our hotel fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience and negative impression you may have had during your stay with us. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.


Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose this Holiday Inn because it was new & in a good location. The suite was so roomy & clean all around. Since they have a restaurant there, no free breakfast is provided. We just drove over to Denny's instead & shared a breakfast (hubby & me). I do have to agree with some of the other reviews that the guy at the front desk was not friendly or welcoming at all. He did not greet us as priority club members either. Overall this is a nice hotel close to downtown & the railroad station & we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texgal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

brand new (we stayed June 2013). not really walkable to downtown even though the desk person said it was....glad we drove it. only took 5 minutes to drive.

service was great - i did ask for recommendations for jewelry & the desk person couldn't really give me a stores name...so that was disappointing - but every need & question was met with a smile & a nice response.

the restaurant was nice....good service, good food...and didn't feel like a hotel restaurant.

typical holiday inn pool...too crowded with screaming kids to enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennySTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cHICAGO
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Always nice to stay in a new property. They have done a decent job and they have a fitness room. Relative to the alternatives I highly recommend this property. Free Wi-Fi, parking and proximity to town. Clean and NEW. Breakfast is not included. WHen we checked in the guy was great! Checking out, the girl was not so service friendly but we were leaving so no worries:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FORESTBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

For being a brand new hotel I would think more attention would be paid to the quality of service at this hotel. The front desk staff was short and rude with me, the restaurant staff was even worse. We were not greeted or welcomed when we came through the door. The host was sitting at the bar and did not get up to seat us or give us menus. We ended up cutting our trip short at this hotel because while the room was beautiful and brand new, EVERY interaction with staff made us feel unwelcome. The location is terrible, there are much better places to stay in Durango at better prices. SKIP THIS ONE!!!

Room Tip: Do NOT waste your time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sharon L,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We are committed to our Hospitality Promise and strive to maintain the highest standard of quality and service. I assure you that proper measures have been taken to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, no issues with service..didn't eat at restaurant. My biggest compliant is that the mattresses are cheap and very uncomfortable. I have stayed in so many Holiday Inns as a priority club member and this is one of the most uncomfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mere1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear mere1426,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the comfort level of the mattress prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,051 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
469 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Address: 21636 Highway 160, Durango, CO 81303-6807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2013 Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing