We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Nearby Hotels
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$230
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$153
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strater Hotel(Durango)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$249
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
152
84
33
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
84
33
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskattached restaurantfake fireplacethe shuttle drivernice propertyworkout roomfree shuttlein townthe hotel offersper nightwould highly recommend this hoteldowntown areayoung manbed was comfortablethe entire staffwould definitely stay here againhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 297 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

When you spend over $200 a night expections are very high. Only one employee on duty in the evening. Water was luke warm could not get hot water to shower or shave. Requested extra blankets had to go to recepection desk to get them because only one employee on duty. Returned from dinner and had to endure a large gathering of men drinking and eating in the parking lot. We had teenage girls with us and they were subject to cat calls and bad language. Went to the Sports Bar and eventually the group of men came in and continued to act poorly.Needless to say we left. This is not what I expected from a well respected Nationial Chain. Next visit to Durango we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich3337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Rich3337,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is most disappointing to hear of your overall dissatisfaction and we are truly sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Again, thank you for your candid feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Staying at this hotel as I write this review. Let me start by saying this is a new hotel and the rooms are quite nice. That being said, we are a family of 4 and we only had 3 bath towels. We also found the room to be lacking in blankets. Made a call down to the front desk and asked for blankets and a towel. Front desk person was short with me and said she could not bring anything up to the room as she was the only one on duty. Only 1 person working after 8 pm ??? Before I could say anything, she said her other line was ringing and she had to go. I would think at a rate of nearly $200 per night they could afford to have a couple people working. I would also add that there was a very loud group of drunks in the parking lot having a beer and pizza party . They were rude to everyone walking by and the hotel management did nothing about it. All and all a very disappointing stay at this hotel. Needless to say we will not be coming back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you expect to have any kind of service from the staff
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greencreeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Greencreeker,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the service you received during your stay did not live up to your expectations and any inconvenience the noise at our parking lot may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay if you are in Durango. Was somewhat disappointed that breakfast was not included in the price of the room. We normally try to stay with Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express for those 'extras'. The hotel restaurant did offer a breakfast menu. Prices were fair; food was excellent. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrnMrsM1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shara S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Holiday Inn Express hotel do offer a free breakfast in the morning. Since we are a Holiday Inn and Suites hotel brand, we offer a sit-down breakfast at our restaurant. Unlike Holiday Inn Express hotels, we do have an adjoining restaurant and bar and offer room service. If you decide to stay with us again, please keep in mind that we do offer a breakfast rate for a bit more. Thanks again for your feedback!
~Bridget Averill
Guest Relations Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the downtown area and train station but it's nice to be a little further away. Ate at the Sports bar in the hotel and the food was fantastic. Had the rib eye steak and it was cooked perfectly. Asked the bartender who was cooking and she said a chef that was on Hell's Kitchen who place 3rd. It was evident she can cook and enjoys what she does. We did the Bus to Silverton and the train back....I think this is the best way to do the train trip. Ate at Grumpy's in Silverton...food was great....and the piano player was a great surprise.
A great stay in Durango....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffBarb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shara S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so much for providing such great feedback about our hotel and restaurant. We do have a new line cook, Jillian, who was in the top three of Hell’s Kitchen season eight. She is an incredible chef and has had a tremendous impact on the restaurant. We will look forward to your return!
~Bridget Averill
Guest Relations Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

After arriving late in Durango from Mesa Verde, we decided to stop at the HI Hotel and Suites in town. While the hotel was very nicely appointed (five months old) and the front desk personnel were pleasant, the attached restaurant (The Sporting News Bar and Grill) was quite poor.

Upon arrival at the hotel (and after a long day of travel), my wife decided to take "advantage" of the on-site restaurant while I started the check in process. Unfortunately, there was no restaurant staff present to greet customers and my wife had to physically track down a waitress. After finding a waitress and placing an order, the waitress suggested that we could have the food delivered to the room. As my wife did not know the room number, the waitress instructed my wife to call the restaurant after arriving in the room. Upon entering the room, my wife called the restaurant as instructed and a gentleman answered the phone who was completely clueless as to our order and asked my wife to hold. After 7 minutes of waiting for someone to come back to the phone, I told my wife to hang up and I would go down to the restaurant. After arriving downstairs to the restaurant, the staff still did not have a record of our order and then informed me that the requested item (pepperoni pizza) was no longer available. I then placed an order for a different item. After several MORE trips downstairs to check on the order, the items FINALLY arrived via room service 1.5 hours after initial check in (and overpriced at $43 for a pizza, chicken tenders and a salad).

To top things off, this hotel does not have a standard breakfast as almost all other HI hotels do within the network (FYI...I'm a Priority Club member who stays in a lot of HI properties each year so I know). Rather, you're forced to eat (and pay for an overpriced) breakfast at the aforementioned on site restaurant which wasn't going to happen given a $175 rate for the hotel and a $43 "dinner" the night before.

Frankly, if you're going to be staying in Durango for the Durango-Silverton Train, we'd recommend that you stay in the HI Express located in Farmington, NM (about 1 hour South of Durango). You'll save AT LEAST $75 per night and can stay in a nice (and new) HI Express hotel which actually has a standard HI Express breakfast (hot).

A word to the wise.....Durango hotels are WAY overpriced, especially considering the nice and new options that are only 1 hour away to the South in Farmington, NM. A brand new hotel was being built beside the HI Express in Farmington as an FYI and Three Rivers Brewery and Restaurant in Farmington, NM is recommended as well.

My ratings include the hotel + the restaurant as they are linked (and unfortunate for the hotel).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WJC31589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear WJC31589,

Thank you for your review. Guest satisfaction is one of our many goals and I am disappointed that our staff and restaurant did not meet your expectations. While it may be true that breakfast is not complimentary with every rate (like the Holiday Inn Express's) we do serve breakfast in our restaurant. We do have special rates which includes breakfast that you can also avail. Your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews