We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Something different to do when you're tired of the tourist attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Community Recreation Center

Durango Community Recreation Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Fun & Games in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The 71,557 square foot Durango Community Recreation Center offers a Lap and Leisure Pool, Hot Tub, Water Slide, Outdoor Splash Pad, Racquetball Courts, Indoor Track, Aerobics Studio, Gymnasium, Youth Games Area, Cybex Free Weights and Pin Loaded Weight Equipment, Cardiovascular Equipment, Climbing Wall, meeting rooms, outdoor playground and Babysitting.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Something different to do when you're tired of the tourist attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We've found that a lot of towns in Colorado have pretty good community centers; we've been told it's because that's where the lottery money goes. Well, Durango's community center does not disappoint. It has a pretty good pool, a fitness center, and even a climbing wall. The climbing wall hours are limited, so check before you go. One entrance fee gets you in, and you can do any (or all) activities. It's great for tourists, too, since the daily fee is quite reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    18
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good climbing wall...mediocre pool.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Went there with my kids while on vacation. The climbing wall was great. Our pool experience was not. My kids literally jumped into the pool once before some loud and overly aggressive lifeguard blew his whistle and yelled for all kids to get out of the pool for an adult swim. I am fine with the concept of an adult swim, but they literally made kids get out of the kiddie pool where they had a castle and water gun fixtures in less than 2 feet of water. There is no "adult" aspect of that area. I think that policy should be reviewed and applied to only the areas of the pool that are clearly intended for adults. In general the poo area was okay, but nothing to get excited about.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“every community needs one of these”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fantastic indoor pool area - lazy river, hot tub, very large children's pool safe for all ages with numerous slides/toys, large halfpipe style water slide for kids and adults alike, olympic sized pool with low and medium high dives. Mens, Womens, and family locker rooms/dressing rooms with showers. day entry fees/monthly memberships and yearly memberships. childcare for $2/hour. fantastic assortment of excellent work out classes - something for everyone, every age and every ability/interest. indoor basketball and jogging track, indoor climbing wall. wide array of work out equipment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went for a swim meet and was thoroughly impressed. Building is recent, pool is very nice and great for little kids. Excellent climbing wall. Easy in town location and a good rainy day option. I would have liked for a swimsuit extractor in the locker room.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alevey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice rec center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were staying at a camp site at Vallecito Reservoir without showers, so we visited the rec center in Durango. It has a good pool for laps and for kid playing. The showers are private and quite nice. It is easy to get to the rec center and plenty of parking. And, there are good restaurants nearby, easy walking distance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeffNieusma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango Community Recreation Center also viewed

 

Been to Durango Community Recreation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing