We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice rec center”

Durango Community Recreation Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Fun & Games in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The 71,557 square foot Durango Community Recreation Center offers a Lap and Leisure Pool, Hot Tub, Water Slide, Outdoor Splash Pad, Racquetball Courts, Indoor Track, Aerobics Studio, Gymnasium, Youth Games Area, Cybex Free Weights and Pin Loaded Weight Equipment, Cardiovascular Equipment, Climbing Wall, meeting rooms, outdoor playground and Babysitting.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Frederick, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice rec center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were staying at a camp site at Vallecito Reservoir without showers, so we visited the rec center in Durango. It has a good pool for laps and for kid playing. The showers are private and quite nice. It is easy to get to the rec center and plenty of parking. And, there are good restaurants nearby, easy walking distance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeffNieusma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    22
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a great place for kids to have fun. Hard to believe a small town like Durango has such an awesome recreation facility. It is clean and well run. Sure wish our town had something of this caliber for it's citizens. Congratulation Durango!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
133 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great resource for family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Reasonable rates, great facility. This is definitely worth a visit to work out or spend the day with the family. They have an indoor track, pools, workout room, climbing wall, ping pong (no admission required to just play a game), and friendly staff. What a treasure for Durango, especially if the weather keeps you in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cragtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My grandkids came for a 10 days vacation visit to Durango and once they were introduced to the Durango Community Recreation Center......all they wanted to do is come back every day to enjoy his fantastic facility, especially the water slide/and play swimming area. Extremely clean and safe with qualified life guards monitoring the whole area. We had a blast and almost a year later they are still talking about it with a huge smile on their faces.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Community Rec Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a great city pool in the heart of Durango. There is a great kiddy pool, lap pool, slide, little lazy river and hot tubs (at least in the pool area). We went here because we had some down time on our vacation to Durango and found it a great way to kill a few hours with our little kids. I would say that if the kids are older than 10 years old, they might not enjoy it as much as the little ones. The main part is the kiddy pool that is tailored to those 3 - 6 years old, so my 4 year old thought this was the best part of our week in Durango.

Helpful hint - we got there early (about 9:30 am) and they wouldn't let us in the kiddy pool and lazy river area because there were swimming lessons going on, so we had to wait until 11 am to entry those areas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmad3413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango Community Recreation Center also viewed

 

Been to Durango Community Recreation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing