We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN! Hot water & Cute Cabins”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lightner Creek Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“CLEAN! Hot water & Cute Cabins”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is one of the cleanest place I have ever stayed, including some nice hotels. The bathrooms were spotless, even in the corners, and had plenty of hot water. The pool was well heated even in May after a cold spell. We stayed in a cabin without a kitchen, so it was just bunk beds. It was perfect for a low cost, yet more sheltered way to camp. The grounds were accented with flowers and lots of hummingbirds. The staff is super friendly too. If we camp again, this will be the place we go.

Room Tip: The C3 cabin is close to the bathroom and right on the creek, plus sun in the morning on the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    22
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
60
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Camped here during the Memorial Day weekend with family of four. Solid reviews on here so I'll only comment on the highlights. The folks here running this campground are great people, very friendly and outgoing and they keep the place in great shape. You won't go wrong camping here. Close to Durango.

Other good points - spotless bathrooms and showers. Ice cream socials, heated pool, guy at front desk who hugged me when he found out I was a veteran.

Some "negatives" I have to put down as they weren't mentioned in the reviews I think I'd wish I'd known. No campfires or wood burning. I read it but really just didn't pay it much mind, but it did kind of dampen our camping experience as we always consider that part of the experience. Just seemed kind of weird to have a tent and really not a lot to do at night. It was cold too which amplified the issue. I did see one or two people who brought fire pits (not sure if those are "legal" but I wished I had one). Kind of made our nights kind of lame, almost dealbreaker sort of lame. I also think this place is better suited for RV's and trailers. We had a premium spot right on the creek which was nice, but in other places I've camped it would be considered an average one, if not a little cramped. Some of the other tent spaces I'd consider to be way too small and cramped.

For tent folks, it's almost like you use this place as cheap lodging for going into Durango, not for the camping experience. Our two neighbors were gone 90% of the time and just came back to sleep. For RV and trailer folks I'd say this place is pretty sweet.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank olozbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were so fortunate to find this campground just outside of Durango. All because of previous reviews, so I needed to add mine. Seldom do we stay in private campgrounds. We prefer state parks and National parks. We've never liked the feel of a "trailer park." This private park is delightful however. Tucked in the woods, along a stream, well maintained, and the owners and staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. The perfect distance from Durango and all it's activities, and after driving around the area, absolutely the best place to camp! Can't wait to go back !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

OK, this review is late. My apologies to the owners, who were very (very!) nice to us.

We stayed here in July 2013. We had 4 sites for a family gathering (3 camping trailers and 1 tent). The owners went out of their way to juggle their sites around, before our arrival, so that the 3 trailers could park side-by-side. Not an easy feat in the middle of your busy season, with trailers coming & going every day of the week. We appreciated the extra effort! They upgraded the tent site (at no charge) because they had a Boy Scout troop staying, and were worried that the regular tent site would be too noisy.

We loved the sparkly clean bathrooms, the pool, the laundry facilities, and the dozens (and dozens!) of hummingbirds attracted to their feeders. Great place -- we wouldn't hesitate to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Lightner Creek Campground again this year which is year number 31 for us being there. The new owners are wonderful and the campground is just as great as it has been for many years. It is beautiful, clean, quiet, peaceful, and the hosts are very friendly and helpful.
Lois C.

Room Tip: Ask the owners--they are very helpful and will fulfill your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Sueur, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This campground is awesome! The owners are very nice and accomodating. The facilities are well maintained. The bathroom and showers are spotless. Easy access to town. The campground is nestled between mountains by a stream. Quiet, clean and beautiful!

Room Tip: Can accommodate big motor homes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a beautiful place that is located up a canyon about 10 minutes or so from town. We stayed in a camper cabin. The bathrooms are really clean and the pool was very nice and clean as well. There is a small playground for kids too. The camper cabin was just like any other, but the lights are solar- powered, which is cool. It was a little dirty, but we have stayed in enough camper cabins to be prepared to do a full wipe- down ourselves and to bring something to put over the mattresses that we will put our sleeping bags on top of. We loved our stay and would go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
24.4 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
5.7 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
343 reviews
4.4 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
4.0 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,035 reviews
4.0 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lightner Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lightner Creek Campground

Property: Lightner Creek Campground
Address: 1567 County Road 207, (Lightner Creek Rd.), Durango, CO 81301-7700
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Number of rooms: 97

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing