We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambience and meal!”

Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen
Ranked #14 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen is a contemporary American bistro with a southwestern flair. Fresh salads, creative small plates, artisanal pizzas, and fire-roasted steaks, chicken and seafood are prepared in twin 600+ degree stone hearth ovens in an open kitchen. The Owners have restored the interior of the historic Century Building on Main Avenue, revealing turn-of-the century Carnegie steel support beams, the original maple hardwood floor and decorative tin ceiling tiles, and the original brick wall. These historical elements, along with the expo kitchen, rollup windows, and 35-foot curved bar, create an urban industrial loft setting for a unique Durango dining experience.
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good ambience and meal!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

What a great place to eat! Had the special that night and it was awesome! Atmosphere is nice and relaxing. And the Blood Orange Margarita was awesome! Would definitely eat there again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DR1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    114
    38
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly and lovely meal”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived late on a Sunday, yet they were still serving. We sat all the way in the back at the counter that overlooks the kitchen. I always love that because it means they have nothing to hide in their food prep. The chiefs that were working back there interacted with us nicely. We ordered 3 "appetizers" to split two ways and there was plenty of food with nothing left over. The quarter rack of baby back ribs were delicious and tender with a very unusual sort of Asian sauce. When we were done with our meal the chief suggested the peach dessert. Local peaches, grilled and served with vanilla ice cream two little cookies and chocolate syrup wafted over the top. YUMMM! We would not have ordered dessert without the recommendation from the chief. I recommend this restaurant

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jillmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Brunch was terrific!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a very flavorful, tasty brunch with good service and menu choices for all, including some vegetarians. Will definitely come back on our next visit. yummmm.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Blacktieranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner find”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed a delicious Italian themed dinner with amazing flavors and expert service from Sharilee. We shall pass the word onto our Colorado family that this restaurant is a must for a meal. We shall return!

Helpful?
1 Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“New sausage app....Gotta try it!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We are frequent diners at Chimayo. Because it's so good! Two nights ago we tried their new sausage appetizer. Not just sausage, but also roasted potatoes and peppers, with three yummy sauces--The sausage, sourced from Gosar Ranch in Colorado, has no preservatives or nitrates. Yummy!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DougDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing