We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top delicious!”

Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen
Ranked #14 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen is a contemporary American bistro with a southwestern flair. Fresh salads, creative small plates, artisanal pizzas, and fire-roasted steaks, chicken and seafood are prepared in twin 600+ degree stone hearth ovens in an open kitchen. The Owners have restored the interior of the historic Century Building on Main Avenue, revealing turn-of-the century Carnegie steel support beams, the original maple hardwood floor and decorative tin ceiling tiles, and the original brick wall. These historical elements, along with the expo kitchen, rollup windows, and 35-foot curved bar, create an urban industrial loft setting for a unique Durango dining experience.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Over the top delicious!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Chimayos hits it out of the park...again. Michael and Brigitte, the owners, are truly artists with food. Brigitte recommended one of the best glass of pinot noirs I've ever had, so smooth and refined. It was one of the pricier ones but worth every penny. Superb tasting tuna ceviche with passion fruit as the appetizer. Melt in your mouth pork tacos. And this wonderfully savory polenta dish with goat cheese, dried tomatoes and mushrooms. Every bite was heaven. We've eaten here many times and the menu never gets old but we have to say the dinner last night was truly a masterpiece! Nice job!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JodySueF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimayoDurango, Owner at Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for the kind words, Jody. We're thrilled to hear we're one of your favorite dinner spots. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and look forward to your next visit! Best, Michael L., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    113
    38
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My new favorite place!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The food is incredible! We loved the atmosphere and the service was fantastic! We voted this is our new favorite place to eat and or just have drink!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoLuvthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimayoDurango, Owner at Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you joining us and are thrilled you enjoyed our food and atmosphere! We would love to have the opportunity to serve you again and hope you'll join us the next time you're nearby. Best, Michael L., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Award winning cocktails”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We tend to go to Chimayo for small plates and cocktails rather than meals. Everything is cooked in brick ovens, so you really can't expect fine dining. Aaron, at the bar, is the 2-time champion cocktail-creator for the Taste of Durango. He is always trying something new back there so be adventurous and try one!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DurangoRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimayoDurango, Owner at Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We're so happy to hear you enjoy our master mixologist, Aaron's, cocktails and creations. We will give him your great feedback and review. We hope to see you again soon! Best, Michael L., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blountsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super cornbread!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We are from the south and didn't expect to find such great cornbread as an appetizer out west. My husband had a great pizza (much better than others in town) and I had the steak sandwich that was also great. We had great service.

Helpful?
Thank Cbug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimayoDurango, Owner at Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we really appreciate it! We're thrilled our cornbread was able to impress your refined palates! We hope to see you again the next time you're in town. Best, Michael L., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We vote it best place to eat and best atmosphere in Durango!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stopped here on a whim for lunch on a Wednesday. We were slightly concerned because there were only a few people eating. Immediately we loved the atmosphere and decor. It had a warm, cozy vibe. Having so many food allergies I had some concerns about finding food I could eat, but after a few questions to the wait person we realized they make their pizza crusts from scratch daily. It was the first time in 5 years I have been able to eat pizza in a restaurant. I was thrilled! They held the sauce and the cheese and added some toppings and I had some of the best pizza I have had in ages. My husband had the Margherita pizza and added a few toppings. We both feel the crust is some of the best we've had. A lightly crispy outside and slightly bready inside, but fairly thin. The lunch pizza deal is great, as you get a smaller pizza and a house salad. We enjoyed the food so much we ordered pizzas again tonight. They were amazing again! The drinks we had with our lunch were really delicious as well. My husband got something with ginger in it and he was in heaven. Don't miss this place! They have plenty of seating for whatever style or comfort level you are looking for. Even purse hangers under the pizza bar. Great for the family, couples, parties, pretty much anything. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DezinerDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimayoDurango, Owner at Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We're so glad to hear our service and food impressed you! We're dedicated to using only fresh ingredients and we were more than happy to accommodate your food allergies. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, and we hope to see you again the next time you're in Durango! Best, Michael L., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing