We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”

Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen
Ranked #14 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen is a contemporary American bistro with a southwestern flair. Fresh salads, creative small plates, artisanal pizzas, and fire-roasted steaks, chicken and seafood are prepared in twin 600+ degree stone hearth ovens in an open kitchen. The Owners have restored the interior of the historic Century Building on Main Avenue, revealing turn-of-the century Carnegie steel support beams, the original maple hardwood floor and decorative tin ceiling tiles, and the original brick wall. These historical elements, along with the expo kitchen, rollup windows, and 35-foot curved bar, create an urban industrial loft setting for a unique Durango dining experience.
Roseville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My father and I swung by Chimayo for a light dinner and cocktails after arriving in Durango. We were impressed enough that we went back the next day for a full dinner. The chef and owner gave us a sample of a few items which were all excellent, but we both settled on the jalapeno bacon wrapped sirloin for dinner, which was one of the best steak I've had at a restaurant in years. We also tried a few of the house martinis, all of which were excellent. The entire staff was incredibly friendly and I hope my travels lead me back to Durango for another dining experience at Chimayo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bdreno83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimayoDurango, Owner at Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hello Bdren! It was a pleasure serving you and your father. We’re glad you went with the Jalapeno Bacon Wrapped Beef Tenderloin; it is one of our most popular specials. Thank you for the kind words – we appreciate it! Best, Michael L., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    115
    38
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A fine dining experience in downtown Durango”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was my second visit this year to Durango, and I ate at Chimayo both times. The setting is hip with a nice bar, and the food was delicious. I will absolutely return on my next trip to Durango!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimayoDurango, Owner at Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi Kevin, Wow! We are absolutely thrilled to hear you chose Chimayo on both of your recent visits to Durango. We enjoy having you and can’t wait until your next visit. Best, Michael L., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food is bad”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had drinks and appetizers at our first visit. Beer was cold and we had imported olives and toasted focaccia bread along with guacamole for a snack. The olives were yummy but guacamole was not good.
We visited a second time for dinner and cocktails were not so great. Dinner was awful. We had the beef skewers and Mac N Cheese. They were both disgusting.... the beef skewers had a strong season on them and mac n cheese was cold.
The atmosphere was great and service was nice but the price for food was not reasonable. Stop here for a cocktail and move along for dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ABoswell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Casual elegance - truly a fine experience"”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The owners Michael & Birgite (not sure of the spelling) have put their hearts and souls into this restaurant. From the moment you walk in, you are greeted by the gracious staff & cannot help but be taken in by the attention to detail that was paid when building Chimayo. The fixtures are top of the line and created by talented artisans. The ambience is amazing. And then there's the food! What can I say! This is truly a fine dining experience! The menu is unique and delicious! We have been dining in Durango for many years and this is by far Durangos best. On a scale of 1 to 10, this is a 20!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love their Happy Hour”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have been here only for Happy Hour. It was great with good choices of food and drinks. We were totally satisfied and appreciated that our server reminded us that HH was almost over so we could get one last order in. We chose stuffed mushrooms, the hot cheese dip and the pizza. It was plenty for 4 to share.
The place is beautiful inside, with an open hearth oven in the back. The flickering flames added to the ambiance. Highly recommended for Happy Hour fans (3-6pm)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 123456735805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing