We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with OK service.”

Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen
Ranked #14 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen is a contemporary American bistro with a southwestern flair. Fresh salads, creative small plates, artisanal pizzas, and fire-roasted steaks, chicken and seafood are prepared in twin 600+ degree stone hearth ovens in an open kitchen. The Owners have restored the interior of the historic Century Building on Main Avenue, revealing turn-of-the century Carnegie steel support beams, the original maple hardwood floor and decorative tin ceiling tiles, and the original brick wall. These historical elements, along with the expo kitchen, rollup windows, and 35-foot curved bar, create an urban industrial loft setting for a unique Durango dining experience.
Colorado
Level Contributor
145 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food with OK service.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The place is well designed and fits well in to the old building. A couple a gas fire pizza ovens in the back. We had a pizza and salad which were both very good.

The only negatives we service side. It hard to understand why I had my pizza delivered to the table 5 minutes before my wife salad arrived. The other one was our server went missing just as we were ready to leave so, we ended up sitting around for a while before being able to pay.

I would still recommend you eat here if the menu has what your interested in...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_Colorado_Mtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    114
    38
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corrales, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Smashing decor and great food”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Fairly new to Durango, this restaurant has one of the better atmosphere's I've experienced. Lighted gas burning torches greet you at the entrance and the open atmosphere with exposed brick walls is stunning. Our server was very nice but seemed rushed as I could see she was trying to serve a lot of tables in the restaurant. The food was great - I had a wood fired pizza with mushrooms and carmelized onions finished with truffle oil and that was superb - the crust was perfectly crisp. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
148 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Many choices in Durango, this is one of the best”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We so delighted on our road trip to come across Durango, a town we never new existed. We were even more delighted to find this dining experience, Chimayo. We started with a ceviche...who knew in southern Colorado that it would be one of the best I have ever had. Served attractivley in a martini glass, filled beyond the top, and perfectly accompanied by crisp tortlla chips. We added stuffed mushrooms, excellent, with a nice kick to the sauce. The Margherita pizza was cheesey, crispy crust, and hot, so good. Diet Coke-$2.50, Ceviche-$14, Stuffed Mshrooms- $8.50, Marghertia pizza- $12.00. with tax $39.93. Our waiter, Ron, was excellent, as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SayGoWeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The food was ok, and the restaurant staff were rude. When my friend took her daughter to the restroom to change her diaper, there was no changing table. My friend questioned the restaurant manager, and she replied with "I'm not sure we want dirty diapers in the bathroom." On our way out of the establishment, after lunch, we counted at least 5 other babies/toddlers in the place. Did they really need to be rude? There are plenty of other places to eat in Durango.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CBurn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross Ca.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Should be the best in town”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We pulled into Durango on a Sunday night on the way to Denver. We saw that the Orr House was closed that day , so we looked on page 2 or 3 in the Tripadvisors ratings and found this resturant .What a find. The service was wonderful and the menu was very interesting and well carried out. We even asked our server that night at the end of our meal why they weren't rated higher ? He said that they were a new business and still working their way up the rating charts. PEOPLE......DO NOT WAIT FOR OTHERS TO DISCOVER THIS PLACE....IT'S HERE NOW !!!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JdogRossCa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Chimayo Stone Fired Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing