We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Durango
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveler rating
319
157
57
28
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
319
157
57
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station antique elevator the main hotel cookies continental breakfast main street charming hotel victorian style restaurants and shops modern conveniences oatmeal street noise the durango silverton narrow gauge railroad heart of downtown strater hotel rooms are small in town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The check in was very easy and all of the staff we encountered were courteous and helpful. The room was an interior, so we had no window. It was very clean and neat and furnished nicely. The seating areas in the lobby were exquisite. There was no outside seating area. The breakfast was very skimpy for an elegant place like this. Complimentary water and coffee in the room as well as tea and coffee 24/7 in the lobby. The heating/AC was very responsive and worked well.

Room tip: Get one with a window.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here at the beginning of our tour of Colorado. Upon arrival we were allocated a room with no window (would not be classified as a room at all in the UK) which we instantly rejected as unsuitable as I’m claustrophobic. We were then given another room, including window but were told it would be an additional $70. It was 9pm, we’d travelled all day and thus the only option was to agree. Upon taking this up with management at checkout, I was told that Booking.com stayed that some rooms had no windows. I have searched their site thoroughly and can find this information nowhere. This left an unpleasant taste in our mouths.
In addition I would also say that the breakfast was very poor and that in terms of decor, it’s a fine dividing line between quaint and shabby.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019

Lovely ambiance in this historic hotel right on Main Street next to the Train Station. While the staff was very young, they did an average/good job of accommodating any of our requests. The room was lovely, but no mini-fridge. While they have an elevator, it is extremely small, so we always took the stairs to the second floor. Good exercise. Somewhat pricey as you might expect, but an average breakfast buffet was included in the rate. Ample off-street/on-site parking.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staledale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019

First and foremost, you are right next to the tourist train and a crossing that the trains need to blow their whistle for. Being from a train family, I loved it, but not everyone might. This was our third trip to Durango, but our first the General Palmer. The location is wonderful, the staff was exceptionally kind, and Caleb the bellman was delightful. The elevator is the oldest in Colorado, or so I was told. It is similar to the one at the Hotel Boulderado, if you have been there. Fun to ride. The décor is antique, but the seating could use a little refurbishing. The breakfast wasn't high end, but it wasn't bad either. The second floor patio was comfortable for sitting and relaxing for some fresh air. We had Room 211 which was a very nice size, the bed was quite comfortable, but I'm glad they offered steps to get into the bed as it is HIGH!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denverrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

We booked the 3 room suite 6 months in advance for a family trip. We called the week prior to arrival to verify reservations. When we arrived we were told that our suite had been change to two rooms due to the fact that the suite had a water line break a month earlier and was under construction. This was after 2 of our friends that booked the same time with us had been bump because the had another party they needed to give the rooms to. Why would a 4 diamond hotel not call you or tell you when you were just confirming you reservations the week before. Our friends were offered a room at the best western. 4 Diamond?

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews