We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“an ALMOST perfect stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“an ALMOST perfect stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

We just spent on night at the General Palmer (GP), after having spent a nice at the Strater Hotel down the block. This hotel was nearly perfect. The location was perfect, right along main street. The train ran behind the hotel, so we got some great pics but were never bothered by the whistle.

The queen room was perfectly appointed and much bigger (perhaps due to less clutter, too) than at the Strater. We LOVED the vanity area and separate bathroom. As trivial as it may seem to some, one thing we loved were the amenities. The soap/shampoo/etc. were great, as were the fuzzy robes. The flat-screen TV was a nice addition. The CD alarm clock was a bit fancy for me, and I couldn't figure out how to turn it off in the morning! Other details, like the ceiling fan and stained glass transom, were just great.

The common areas were nearly as nice as at the Strater. There always seemed to be cookies, hot chocolate, cider and lemonade available near the counter. We all but skipped the continental breakfast, as there was nothing enticing.

Yes, the elevator is small. It is gold-plated and gorgeous, with a heavy iron retractable door, so I'd ask for help if I were a little old or frail. It just fit two adults and two suitcases, and we rarely waited for it. In fact, aside from transporting luggage, we just used the stairs.

The only fault we can find -- and it was enough to make us think again about coming back -- was the front desk help. One young girl who checked us in was wearing something like jeans and a hoodie and had some questionable-looking guy friends hanging around the desk. That and her casual attitude immediately set the tone. It was a world of difference from the Strater, where even the youngest receptionists were absolutely polite and polished. Not to be discouraged, we blew this off and enjoyed settling in our room. However, when we returned that night to sit in the lobby and enjoy some cider, she didn't acknowlege us at all as we walked through. We sat in a sitting room for a few mins. but couldn't enjoy our own conversation, as she was having a rather loud private conversation on her cell phone. Since this went on for a while, we retired to our room, sorry to have not been able to enjoy the lobby more.

Aside from the front desk staff and the continental breakfast (which, who comes for the food, anyway?), we loved the GP. Between this and the Strater, it's a hard choice. If you like solitude and don't mind possibly encountering sub-par staff, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    93
    30
    12
    6
See reviews for
58
170
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

Stayed at this charming old fashioned hotel and loved it. Great rooms and the staff were excellent. Typical breakfast, not very good.
Small elevator when you have big bags. No internet facilities.

  • Liked — Nice room and great staff on reception
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank doctordavidbanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

The General Palmer was a great find. About the same price as the chain hotels in town, but certainly a cut above. Breakfast, which is included was exceptional. The rooms are small but very clean and updated. Service was very good. Old timey elevator that made taking bags up a little tricky. Great location and on-site free parking.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmbkDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

This was a beautifully and finely appointed hotel. The beds were very comfortable and had high-quality linens. The room was very clean and the service was personable. Decent continental breakfast was included. Just a pleasurable stay all around and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — How well the hotel was decorated and maintained
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SoxFanInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

The General Palmer is a beautifully restored historic property very close to the Durango and Silverton Railroad Depot. I stayed in the least expensive interior room with a murphy bed. The staff was pleasant. I agree with other reviewers that the historic elevator is extremely small, but interesting for its historic value. The hotel contains a lot of polished brass and victorian decoration. My room was not large, but had plenty of room with modern furnishings, including a comfortable couch. The hotel is conveniently located to restaurants and the railroad station, I enjoyed staying at this hotel named after the builder of the Durango and Silverton Rio Grande RR. Nice views from the covered deck of of the trains departing and arriving.

  • Liked — Luxurious historic property with very convenient location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveTPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

When the Strater hotel was sold out we went to General Palmer and we liked it even more! Both are comparable but the bathrooms are much more comfortable at General Palmer and the added CD alarm clock and plasma TV was over the top.
It was very comfortable.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank cdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

My wife and I recently travelled to Durango and had a fantastic time. It is a truly beautiful little mountain town. While it is small, there was no shortage of things to do. We stayed at the General Palmer hotel, downtown on main and it was perfect for us. It is a beautiful victorian style place with a very authentic feel. Even the elevator was original and had the early 20th century push button and gate. Everywhere we ate, we had great food. We rode the narrow gauge train and it was absolutely beautiful, although the 3 and 1/2 hours each way was a little long. We also did a spectacular jeep tour up to the old mining country in Silverton. It was cold but the guides were great and friendly. For our trip, we called on the central reservations folks in Durango and they were very helpful. Not knowing the area, they helped guide us to the right priced hotel for us (although all of the choices were a little overwhelming) and they helped us to plan out and book all of our activities. Their name was Gateway Reservations and I would highly recommend calling them. They gave us a lot of options, some of which, unfortunately, we couldn't afford like the tree zip lines and the glider rides. The reservations guy helped us quite a bit with our plans and even made dinner reservations for us at a little place called Ken and Sues which was perfect - tasty and affordable. We loved Durango and look forward to the next time we can make a weekend getaway.

Helpful?
Thank mrsam07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#4 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Property: General Palmer Hotel
Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing