We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apparently a lovely room...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

... in facts, the worst experience in our lives! What was supposed to be a warm and accomodating room has revealed to be a refrigereting room! And this is not a joke at all, as it was -14℃ outside during the night. We had been given an extra blanket but it's still terrible to know that you can't come out the bed or you'd freeze. Moreover, breakfast is served in a chilled room as well, so we had to finally recover in our car to stay a little bit warmer. Unfortunately I would not reccomand it, at least in winter/spring time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Broglio I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear "Broglio I"
Thank you very much for your review of you stay here at the General Palmer Hotel. I do sincerely apologize for the room/rooms being so frigid, it is not typical, but I do thank you again for letting us know, it is how we learn what is important to our guests.
Sincerely, Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 503 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was the best find ever! To be able to visit an historical hotel that instead of looking aged looks beautifully kept up with all the "warm and fuzzies" of home was amazing. The breakfast was yummy and healthy with all baked items made fresh every morning. Cookies and coffee/tea/hot chocolate every afternoon and smiles from all hotel staff…we cannot recommend this hotel enough. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Good Morning, "Kathleen F"
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the General Palmer hotel. I feel that my staff does an awesome job, such a great group of young people!!! Many of them are taking classes up at the college in Hotel management and this seems to be the perfect stepping stone for them. Thank you for the encouragement!
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

If you like older restored hotels instead of the chain hotels this is the place for you! This hotel was charming, full of antiques, and had many extra amenities that you would not expect. For example, they will bring your complementary breakfast to your room at whatever time you ask, and they were even some relaxing CDs in the room to play in the CD player/alarm clock.

They have a hot beverage station that is open all the time, and there are warm cookies every afternoon.

The hotel is located on the main street, and practically in the parking lot of the train depot, which we loved. We stayed two nights and never needed the use of our car because it's close to everything!
I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Tip: Some of the rooms do not have a window. Be sure to ask for a window room.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kevran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear "Kevran"
Thank you for leaving a review of the General Palmer hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, I think that one of the best things about the hotel is it's convenient location.
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

What an awesome place. Victorian/Western antiques, clean rooms, robes, wi-fi, just loved it. The staff were very accommodating, and it is such a beautiful location that I will be recommending it often when.I return home.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear "Beverly B"
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay here at the General Palmer. We feel that is it those little touches that help us to stand out in the crowd, so glad that you enjoyed them.
Sincerely, Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My son and I stayed here in August for a overnight trip before we caught the train to Silverton. It was a very nice old time hotel with modern things like central heat and air. The staff was wonderful and we really enjoyed the trip. Look forward to brining the wife for a nice romantic trip this spring.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wffood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear "WFFood"
Thank you for your review of the General Palmer, oh my gosh spring time is such a lovely time of the year. We have had some wonderful nighttime rain storms this spring and everything is so green and beautiful. Thank you for staying with us in August!
Sincerely, Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I recently stayed there for two nights in December and there was truly an old world charm about the Hotel - from the stained glass windows around the lobby, to the hand carved mahogany trim and wainscot on the walls, to the old Otis elevator which barely fits 2 people with luggage. The room was nothing short of warm, quaint and cozy. It had a very comfortable queen size bed along with several pieces of vintage furniture and a four piece bathroom. The hotel staff were very friendly and they even offered me a different, larger room with a king bed at no extra charge. The hotel was built in 1898 and it felt like I went back in time while staying there. In the lobby there is small display of period GUND teddy bears and they are for sale to the hotel guess. The town of Durango has that same charm and the hotel is just steps away from the famed Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. I will definitely stay there again in the future as it made a great addition to my trip and the wonderful winter train ride the next day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morefun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear "MoreFun2
Thank you for your review of your stay at the General Palmer. I just love winter time here, especially when the train whistle blows and lets out that billow of smoke, it truly is like stepping back in time and I never tire of it.
Sincerely, Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in one of the three bedroom suits for four nights. These rooms are not located in the main hotel but in a separate section across the parking lot. However, there is another entrance that leads straight out onto the main street. This was one the only hotel we could find that had separate rooms which was one of the reasons we chose it so that the kids could have some space of their own. It worked really well. The hotel has the best location along the main street so you are in the heart of the historic part of Durango. We also road the Polar Express which was right next door. Given it was freezing weather and snowing, the location was perfect. Hot chocolate and cookies nightly in at the front desk were much appreciated. There weren't many people in the hotel while we were there and so the included breakfast was delivered to our room. Each bed has teddy that you can purchase. We bought the one on my daughters bed as a surprise and gave it to her a few days later for her birthday which she loved. Staff were friendly and its worth taking time to go down and sit in the parlour and enjoy the ambience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueberryAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear "Blueberry Ash"
Thank you so very much for placing a review of your stay at the General Palmer Hotel. Winter is such a "magical" time in Durango! I have taken my Grandkids on the Polar Express too and we had a blast. Glad to hear that the family suite worked out well for you!
Sincerely, Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.5 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#1 of 34 in Durango
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5422
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range: $100 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — General Palmer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing