We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and loads of charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location and loads of charm”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in one of the three bedroom suits for four nights. These rooms are not located in the main hotel but in a separate section across the parking lot. However, there is another entrance that leads straight out onto the main street. This was one the only hotel we could find that had separate rooms which was one of the reasons we chose it so that the kids could have some space of their own. It worked really well. The hotel has the best location along the main street so you are in the heart of the historic part of Durango. We also road the Polar Express which was right next door. Given it was freezing weather and snowing, the location was perfect. Hot chocolate and cookies nightly in at the front desk were much appreciated. There weren't many people in the hotel while we were there and so the included breakfast was delivered to our room. Each bed has teddy that you can purchase. We bought the one on my daughters bed as a surprise and gave it to her a few days later for her birthday which she loved. Staff were friendly and its worth taking time to go down and sit in the parlour and enjoy the ambience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueberryAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear "Blueberry Ash"
Thank you so very much for placing a review of your stay at the General Palmer Hotel. Winter is such a "magical" time in Durango! I have taken my Grandkids on the Polar Express too and we had a blast. Glad to hear that the family suite worked out well for you!
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    126
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
95
254
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Marana, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were only in Durango for one night and wanted a special place to spend that one evening. The General Palmer met all of our needs: romance, comfort, charm, friendly service, etc. We were honored with a room upgrade by the manager because of a minor "glitch" with our reservation. As a result, our stay was even better. We were served breakfast in our room (the presidential suite) and enjoyed a night of comfort and luxury. This hotel is first class in every way. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Durango and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarakay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi "Sarakay53"
I remember, I actual have so much fun upgrading when I can to such wonderfully kind people such as yourself. You were so understanding, thank you!
Glad to hear you had such a grate time.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We loved the town of Durango, and stayed at General Palmer in order to catch the early morning ride on the Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. It was a perfect location for that, and also to walk around town. We did not stay in the hotel, but were given a room across the parking lot in another building. It was OK, but a little high priced for the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gayleh-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear "gayleh-k

Thank you for writing a review concerning your stay here that the General Palmer Hotel. I sincerely, appreciate all reviews and we all work very hard to take them into consideration when we make changes.
Thank you again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Next door to Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge RR, a quaint little hotel built in 1898 or so. Pros: very clean quiet, well-tended, pretty if you like Gund bears, lace, and silver serving dishes; fantastic location for walking to the train (historic downtown Durango district), plush robes in rooms, romantic for some couples. Cons: The heat in the rooms are not sensitive to the thermostat (we kept window open all night second night with temps in the 40s or lower, it was that hot with thermostat down all the way!); very small rooms unless you pay lots for suite; the beds are small, the rooms are very small; the breakfast foods in the lovely silver dishes are not commensurate with the actual dishes themselves (pre-formed eggs and sausage that is commensurate with McDonald's, very bland), dry cereals, cooked oatmeal in crockpot, a few yogurts, sometimes ready-made waffles, so-so coffee; we gave up the second day and went to the bagel place); they don't replenish soaps, etc. in room without asking; tub drains very slowly! Fun for once, but second time would seek another hotel. Tip for hotel: hire a chef part-time to figure out a great breakfast, not something heated up from a box. Figure out a way to turn heat off in rooms; we tried shutting heat off, it made for a difficult night's sleep that first night without opening window in middle of night after sleeping restlessly because it was so hot in room.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window, and a room overlooking train station. Elevator is tiny, so be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear "Jeanette M"
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at the General Palmer Hotel. I love letting my staff know what a great job they have done! Durango is such a fun little town, with so much to do.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We just finished a great three day stay at the General Palmer Hotel. We have stayed there many times over the past 30 years and we always have a wonderful time at this great Victorian Hotel which is conveniently located in downtown Durango next to the Durango and Silverton Railroad Station. We especially enjoy staying in the Palmer Wing or Annex as it is called. This part of the hotel has recently been completely renovated with all new bathrooms and interior furnishings including a monster king size bed. It also has state of the art heating and air conditioning. Hotel General Manager Palmer Nelson and her staff are welcoming, hospitable, and always ready to help. Many restaurants are nearby as well as good shopping

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Aren't those new King beds amazing. Thank you "Tom" for the review, glad to hear your stay was a good one. Thank you for the personal Kudos too.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the General Palmer and went on the Peanuts Great Pumpkin Patch Train Ride. The hotel is very pretty. Our room was gorgeous and the bed was so unbelievably comfortable. The hotel saw to it to put teddy bears in our daughters rooms with notes and wine and flowers in ours. A wonderful added touch.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
I do remember you all, so glad to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We all love doing those special little things that create lasting memories.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I'm a sucker for Victorian style hotels/B&B's and the General Palmer blends both very well. The property is well maintained with plenty of parking. It's right in the downtown area where all the shops and restaurants are a short walk away. One thing to note is the close proximity to the Durango & Silverton Railroad station. The train starts blowing it's whistle at 7:30am to 8:00am as it gets ready to depart. If you can sleep through that then no problem. It means wake-up time for the rest of us

Room Tip: The second floor has a nice balcony where you can enjoy the sights and sounds of Downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCSguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear "BCSGuy"
Thank you so much for your review, I truly appreciate it. I love the detail in your review and do truly appreciate you taking the time.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Property: General Palmer Hotel
Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5422
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — General Palmer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing