We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic, but quite ho him...zzzzz.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nostalgic, but quite ho him...zzzzz.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Reccomended by others, but overrated in my opinion. Great location for town walking, but not a good value. Air didn't work well, but bathrooms were nice. At least I can say "been there"! Not again. This 200 character thing is killing me!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROLLLTIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, Front Office Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Rolltide

We were sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the General Palmer Hotel. We appreciate your comments and value your opinions. We realize that our style of Hotel isn't for everyone, thank you for trying us on for size.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    126
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
95
254
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at the General Palmer Hotel twice this summer as a local "staycation" and both times I was amazed at the beauty, charm, and comfort of this four-diamond historic property. The rooms are very clean and every detail is perfect - shelves in bathroom, robes, coffee maker. Though the property is historic, the rooms are up to date and the beds are very comfortable and new. A favorite luxury is the room service breakfast. You can choose your free breakfast from the room service list and have it delivered at the time you choose the next morning...a decadent luxury at no extra cost. All the restaurants and shops in town are within an easy walking distance, so you can leave your car in the hotel's free lot and enjoy everything Durango has to offer. Nice to have a glass of wine with dinner since we could walk back to the hotel. Staff is so incredibly friendly and helpful. Looking forward to another getaway stay soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Dionne
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at the General Palmer. We really enjoy having you stay with us though out the summer, looking forward to seeing you come next spring time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, IL USA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Absolutely loved this fine old hotel. Room was spotless, quaint, and fun to be in.
Beds were comfortable and other than having to wake up very early for the train ride, we couldn't have slept better. The breakfast was adequate and the dining room was very nice. Parking and convenience to the train station couldn't have been better. All the downtown stores and restaurants are right outside the front door. See my Mahogany Grille review.
Best of all, there's a Marble Slab Creamery right across the street!
I'm ready to return to this fine old hotel. One caution, though, they have some inside rooms without windows. They are lovely but may not be a good match for all visitors. Our room had windows right on the main street.

Room Tip: Best to be in the old hotel (not the annex) with an outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibbscr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear "gibbscr"
Thank you for posting your review of your stay here at the General Palmer Hotel. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It really is wonderful to be in the heart of downtown Durango. Also I do agree that the inside rooms are not for everyone.
Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The General Palmer Hotel was recommended by a friend as a walk thru "museum" filled with beautiful antiques. We arranged to stay 2 nights due to the convenience to the famous Silverton-Durango Railroad.The lovely rooms are small-but this is an old hotel... We were pleased with location, service, and available room service for breakfast included in the stay. The breakfasts were "to order", very generous and served hot! There is a 2nd floor rooftop "patio" which we discovered-and enjoyed the most amazing sunset from....and we were in the center of Durango's active day and nightlife. During the day, there is free coffee, tea and fresh baked cookies available in the beautiful lobby.
Staff were excellent, very friendly and accommodating. Private parking is provided for guests in this busy town.

Room Tip: Brass elevator is "antique"-tiny, and the door is very heavy. Bring minimal luggage in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear "rbrfan"
Thank you very much for your review, I never tire of hearing that someone has enjoyed their stay with us. We do all try very hard to make certain that your stay in our hotel and in Durango is enjoyable. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in August. While the staff was very attentive it does not make up for the poor bed, lumpy and old as well as the poor breakfast. No fresh fruit , not even a banana and very few places to comfortably sit. Although my partner thought the breakfast was good.

We were disappointed ...not as nice as we were expecting

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear, "LandR22"
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay here at the General Palmer Hotel. I truly appreciate all reviews, it is what helps us to change and grow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great hotel in an excellent location for visiting Durango. Convenient to train and great restaurants. Good breakfast included with stay. Staff were wonderful and always pleasant and helpful. Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear "Ron W"
Thank you for choosing the General Palmer Hotel for your "Romantic Stay". Thank you as well for writing a review about your stay with us, we all very much appreciate your taking the opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This used to be our favorite hotel in Durango... but they seem to be letting themselves go a bit. The room was one we've stayed in before (we've stayed here for 4 years in a row). The room is still nice and faced the main street. But, the phone did not work and they knew this when we checked in but did not tell us... we had to walk downstairs (or take the elevator or use our cell phone) whenever we had a question for the hotel staff. The weekend was especially warm and the air conditioning has not been updated to accommodate this kind of weather so we and our friends had to leave our windows open. But since all of our rooms faced main street the noise from the bars and bikers went on most of the night and no one got much sleep. The really bad part was that we had convinced our friends to pay the extra to stay here... and so we were disappointed that they did not enjoy their stay and we regretted talking them into staying here...

However, they still serve a nice continental breakfast and had made our dinner reservations for us. We'd still recommend this hotel but with reservations and a suggestion that you only stay here when there is nothing going on in town (like we experienced) and the weather is cooler.

It is conveniently located right next to the train station and the Cold Stone ice creamery is right across the street... we'd also recommend that you have dinner at the Red Snapper which is walking distance to this hotel... great food!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyBAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulanelson, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear "BeckyBAG"
Thank you for your review, I do take each review very seriously and are working on updating the heating and A/C in the main building this year. We accomplished the update in the Palace
Wing portion last year. I agree Labor Day weekend here in Durango can be a bit overwhelming.
Thank you, again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Property: General Palmer Hotel
Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5422
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — General Palmer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing