We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

This was a beautifully and finely appointed hotel. The beds were very comfortable and had high-quality linens. The room was very clean and the service was personable. Decent continental breakfast was included. Just a pleasurable stay all around and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — How well the hotel was decorated and maintained
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SoxFanInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    93
    30
    12
    6
See reviews for
58
170
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

The General Palmer is a beautifully restored historic property very close to the Durango and Silverton Railroad Depot. I stayed in the least expensive interior room with a murphy bed. The staff was pleasant. I agree with other reviewers that the historic elevator is extremely small, but interesting for its historic value. The hotel contains a lot of polished brass and victorian decoration. My room was not large, but had plenty of room with modern furnishings, including a comfortable couch. The hotel is conveniently located to restaurants and the railroad station, I enjoyed staying at this hotel named after the builder of the Durango and Silverton Rio Grande RR. Nice views from the covered deck of of the trains departing and arriving.

  • Liked — Luxurious historic property with very convenient location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveTPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

When the Strater hotel was sold out we went to General Palmer and we liked it even more! Both are comparable but the bathrooms are much more comfortable at General Palmer and the added CD alarm clock and plasma TV was over the top.
It was very comfortable.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank cdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

My wife and I recently travelled to Durango and had a fantastic time. It is a truly beautiful little mountain town. While it is small, there was no shortage of things to do. We stayed at the General Palmer hotel, downtown on main and it was perfect for us. It is a beautiful victorian style place with a very authentic feel. Even the elevator was original and had the early 20th century push button and gate. Everywhere we ate, we had great food. We rode the narrow gauge train and it was absolutely beautiful, although the 3 and 1/2 hours each way was a little long. We also did a spectacular jeep tour up to the old mining country in Silverton. It was cold but the guides were great and friendly. For our trip, we called on the central reservations folks in Durango and they were very helpful. Not knowing the area, they helped guide us to the right priced hotel for us (although all of the choices were a little overwhelming) and they helped us to plan out and book all of our activities. Their name was Gateway Reservations and I would highly recommend calling them. They gave us a lot of options, some of which, unfortunately, we couldn't afford like the tree zip lines and the glider rides. The reservations guy helped us quite a bit with our plans and even made dinner reservations for us at a little place called Ken and Sues which was perfect - tasty and affordable. We loved Durango and look forward to the next time we can make a weekend getaway.

Helpful?
Thank mrsam07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

On a family retreat I paid top dollar for 2-rooms. The location is supurb but the hospitality of the ill trained staff is non existent.

The historic elevator can hold 2-people. I chose the stairs due to my clausterphobia. My 12-yr old son w/ blisters on his feet took the elevator. The elevator stopped between floors and he was trapped for nearly 1-hour. The staff was not trained on how to assist. I was ignored while the front desk clerk made the many phone calls to seek direction. I was ignored when pleading for assistance and to call the Fire Dept . I had to wait for the hotel's off duty maitenance worker to arrive to get him out. I received no apology and there was no concern for my son's well being upon his release. Also, there was no manager on duty and no manager available by phone.

Upon calling the General Manager, Sally, he following business day, she rudly acused my son of foul play and blamed him for the elevator's malfunction which is a complete fabrication with no basis for the statement.

I do not reccommend the General Palmer Hotel; however, I will return to the Historic Strater Hotel, 1-block away, with a lovely staff, quaint facility and terrific location.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Rude Management and ill trained employees
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ExperiencedTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

I stayed at the General Palmer in May and have posted a review for that visit.

Folks at the front desk weren’t nearly as friendly during this visit. I had to wait a good 5 minutes to check in, as there was only 1 person working the desk and she was tied up on the phone booking what sounded like a rather complicated reservation. During our 2 day stay, only once did anyone at the front desk offer a greeting when we walked through the lobby. This was a drastic difference from our other stay when staff at the desk always greeted us.

The complimentary breakfast was still a treat and included the same items as last time. On our second day, we arrived for breakfast at 9:00 and just about everything was depleted. We waited about 10 minutes and a staff member surfaced and replenished everything. We were surprised to see that this same staff member was also assigned to the cleaning of rooms at the same time. She was doing her best to juggle both assignments, but it seemed a poor decision on the part of management to expect one person to do both things.

During both visits we opted for the interior room with a queen bed. We didn’t experience any problems in May, but this time we dealt with a very unpleasant odor. During the day, the room was fine. But each evening (around 9:00 or 10:00 pm), a burnt/smoky odor (cigarettes or popcorn?) filled the room. The odor peaked when the AC was on, leading us to believe it was coming through the ductwork. I’ve sent a complaint to management but have not yet received a reply. I very much regret not having reported it during our first night, but I was convinced that it was an anomaly.

Overall, the General Palmer is a good property. If you plan to explore historic Durango and/or take the Durango Silverton Rail, you cannot beat the General Palmer’s location. We parked our car and didn’t move it for 2 days. During peak season, the hotel charges a premium rate. I must confess that I’ve never paid such a high rate in many other cities (including Las Vegas, San Francisco, Washington DC, and Miami). But the availability of competing hotels in those venues has made it easier to shop around for good rates. Still, ease of parking, good breakfast, and decent room makes this rate worthwhile, especially when comparing rates at the few other hotels in Durango.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

This was a beautiful historic hotel and a great value. It is rated a 4* and I agree. Although historic it has been beautifully renovated with great bathroom and nice touches. Location is super convenient to everything in downtown Durango including being right in front of the train depot for the Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge RR. Continental breakfast was included and was in a lovely room, but the selection was a little skimpy.

  • Liked — Well planned room, location
  • Disliked — Soot from train gets on cars in parking lot if you park in the wrong spots
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CarolynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#4 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#7 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Property: General Palmer Hotel
Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — General Palmer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing