We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Classic and high quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of General Palmer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Classic and high quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

All classic hotels that have been restored should use this as their model. Not only are you getting to experience what it was like to be in a hotel built at the turn of the century, you don't have to trade off comfort or quality. The service and experience has clearly been thought out and it adds so much to the guests' time at this grand hotel. Everything was clean, no matter how old the item might have been, and the staff was incredibly attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wileyc0y0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Good Morning "Wiley"
Thank you, Thank you for the wonderful review you wrote concerning your stay here at the General Palmer. i am happy to hear that you were so appreciative of the hard work that goes into making an older building into something beautiful and comfortable.
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    103
    39
    14
    7
See reviews for
71
204
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a gorgeous Victorian facility right in the middle of downtown Durango. This staff is friendly and helpful, but we had a serious temperature problem. It was too early in the season for the air conditioning to be one, and in fact, it was quite pleasant outside (in the 60's). However, we had a street-side room with large, unscreened windows, and when opened the traffic and noise outside was extremely loud. So we had to sleep with the ceiling fan on (which wobbled quite a bit), so unfortunately, our experience was not what I had hoped.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street if you want the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngatheart3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear "Youngatheart"
Ah the woes of having a hotel in the downtown Historic district of Durango, I was very sorry to hear about the traffic noise. But I do thank you for staying with us, and I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. I can't promise the traffic will go away but I can certainly place you in a quieter section of the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay with us, I do appreciate it, it is what helps us grow and change for the future.
Sincerely, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I we're coming to Durango for a getaway for our anniversary. we got there on a Friday evening and the wonderful lady at the front desk had a room for us with a great rate. she also upgraded us for no extra charge and told us happy anniversary. the room was marvelous windows everywhere, a great bath, very clean. the service there was amazing and friendly. we would come down in the elevator a lot and they would always agreed it's as if it was the first time. the staff was amazing they sent up our breakfast with no hesitation and a smile at the door. this is one of those memories that will always stick and we will be coming back for years:) Rebarchik Family-

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crebarchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear "crebarchik"
I was so pleased to read your review of your stay here at the General Palmer Hotel. You make me so very proud of my staff in your review, they truly are what makes this hotel what it is. Each and everyone of them is a gem and truly enjoy what they do here at the hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently brought a tour group of 13 to Durango and we stayed at the General Palmer. The customer service is simply the best! The decor of the hotel's lobby and other public rooms, as well as the guest rooms, is extremely charming and the central location makes walking everywhere a pleasure. We could not have had a better experience in every way! If you want a hotel with historic atmosphere, fantastic staff and an unbeatable location, the General Palmer is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do not have windows to the outside. If that is important to you, be sure to reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureQuest37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi "NatureQuest"
We absolutely loved having you and your group stay with us, such a great treat! Your guests were all so wonderful and you could tell they truly enjoyed their "Nature Quest" experience. There was such an aire of anticipation. Great planning on your part!
Thanks again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just recently stayed at the General Palmer while on a college visit trip. This old hotel has great charm, and is in a super location within walking distance to everything, and Starbucks is right across the street. Front desk was very nice and answered any of our travel/logistics questions. One young man actually was a college student at Fort Lewis College where my daughter was accepted, and it was nice to get an inside view on the college, town etc. We stayed in the annex which was no problem for us with the stairs as we can handle that kind of situation, and we had the two room suite. It was really big and gave us lots of room and privacy for our daughter. Only complaint is that bathroom is quite small....but it's an old hotel, so we cut it some slack. breakfast was nice, but I always wish that the coffee was stronger in the comp breakfast rooms, but I guess they can't adjust their coffee just for me:-) All in all, a nice, quiet stay, where we could roam the main street of historic durango and have plenty of room to stretch out afterwards.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi "Paula W"
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on the General Palmer Hotel. I really love living in Durango and working at the hotel. We have such a lovely community filled with such diversity and in part I owe that to our little college. I think it keeps us all nice and young. Thank you so much for staying with us and I am glad to hear that the Annex worked well for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel is perfect for a trip to Durango if you want to experience some old victorian charm. It is perfectly located on Main Avenue and if you request a room with a window out the back side you can see the Durango-Silverton railroad. It is one of the few hotels in the US i have been to were you can drink your coffee out of real china and you can use real silverware instead of plastic! The only drawback for me was the breakfast: I realy love a diversified breakfast and thats definitely not what you get here, but we knew in advance and so it was no real trouble for us (besides my wife loved the breakfast.....).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you "Gert B" for writing a review of your stay at the General Palmer hotel. Yes the location is such a plus while staying in Durango. Sometimes visitors come to our area without a vehicle and it is nice to stay where you don't really need one. Though we have had china for many years we just recently acquired the ones you got to experience glad to hear you enjoyed our choice.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The General Palmer Hotel is set in the late 1880's. The furniture is as if from another time period. The rooms are period decor. We enjoyed the ample space. But our bed was really hard and heater was finally figured out around 3am. I sleep sparingly, remained chilly all morning. The views were stunning from our room. The Hotel is centrally located to down town with is great. We such a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Amy:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the General Palmer Hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed staying with us, overall! I apologize for the heating system, ugh, old buildings! A note of encouragement is that we are always on the move updating and redecorating.
Cheers, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Property: General Palmer Hotel
Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5422
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — General Palmer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing