We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Shreveport,Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Happy”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My Wife and myself stayed at the Palmer House early Sept. we really enjoyed ourselfs,the people were very very nice and helpful, the breakfast was very good,the young man who layed it out did a great job. the room was very cozey.

Room Tip: Take the hint, treat youself to a nice treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, I am so glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. I have been able to upgrade the breakfast a bit, added the much needed protein! Thank you again, Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    126
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
95
254
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
laguna niguel caalifornia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Charming is just a start with the General Palmer. Beautifully preserved, yet nicely modernized, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Also very handy to the shopping, restaurants and bars. Nicely done all around and a very friendly, helpful staff. Avoid Labor Daynweekend if you don't care for motorcycles!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank teeburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Ah yes, the motorcycles! They can to some degree detract from what visitors might be hoping for when they visit Durango. Normally we are a very quite though active tourist community, but Labor day weekend is completely different from that norm. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Hotel was very clean and very charming. Did not like the fact that our room had no window which gave a very claustrophobic feel. Stay was welcoming and likeable. Would stay again in a room with a window and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stjago72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your review, and thank you that you would recommend us to your friends, it is important to us. It really can be a very different experience staying in a room without a window, I will normally describe it as somewhat like a room on a cruise ship.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed one night, in the interior queen room, the room was huge and very clean, the hotel itself was charming. The checkin clerk could of been a little more welcoming. The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Also stayed at the Strater and would probally pick it over this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your review it is so helpful for me when people share their experience at the General Palmer Hotel. It is how I learn what is important to travelers, even if it is just for a quick stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a very old hotel trying to fit in todays fast pace world. Overall they did a nice job, room was clean, well outfitted, but small by today's standards. All day coffee bar was a cut above, teddy bears in every room were cute and the location is a 10. Reservation was messed up, hairdryers need to be replaced, room tough to control temp and the people smoking on the decks were offensive (not the hotels fault).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review of the General Palmer Hotel. I do sincerely appreciate your thoughts and comments, they are always helpful to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofallon mo
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed Aug 11&12 2012 after meeting a charming gentleman and his son during our Royal Gorge train trip. He suggested the Durango-Silverton train trip was the best. We headed towards Durango, booked the last 2 tickets for Monday am, then chose the general Palmer which had the last room. One of many synchronicities during our trip. We had a two bedroom room in the Royal annex which was very comfortable, clean, authentic furnishings, luxury bedding and quiet Word of caution, there is no elevator in the annex My husband has braces on both legs but maneuvered the many steps. The bellman offered assistance as well opened the door to the hotel lobby everything. Autumn checked us in professionally and welcoming. The lobby and breakfast sun room is beautiful. Excellent coffee, teas, and cookies are available during the day and evening.
Location is perfect. Next to the Durango-Silverton railroad and convenient to all stores etc downtown. Breakfast was serve yourself: biscuits&gravy, oatmeal with all the trimmings, fresh fruit, store bought muffins bagels etc, yogurt, orange juice great coffee teas and real china. The breakfast was disappointing that there was not any protein such as hard boiled eggs, bacon or better even smoked salmon and capers, cream cheese and cheeses. The $185.00 per night should command a better breakfast to match the graciousness and luxury of this fantastic hotel
We appreciated the private parking. We would definitely stay again and recommend highly.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs chose the main hotel. All that is needed is to insure your reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review, i know that these days especially time is very valuable and I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a lovely old hotel that sits on the main street of Durango which means that you are right in the middle of the activities! Yes, the train station is behind the hotel but after staying here 3 different times in the past 8 years, I must say that I was never bothered by the train whistle! The breakfast setting is so pleasant with a choice of a dining table or pretty sun porch. The breakfast offerings are good. I do agree that the new beds are wayyyyyyy too high -what a huge mistake someone made! While they are very comfortable I think that I would cut off the legs!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for you r review, and thank you for staying with us throughout the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Property: General Palmer Hotel
Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5422
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — General Palmer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing