We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$186
$167
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$176
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
$128
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strater Hotel(Durango)(Great Value!)
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveler rating
302
146
53
24
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
146
53
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslone spur cafetrain stationpalace wingteddy bearsthe main hotelcd playercontinental breakfastpresidential suiteinterior roomcookiesvictorian decormain streetcharming hotelnoise from the streetstained glasstiny elevatorkeurig coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 538 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed one night, in the interior queen room, the room was huge and very clean, the hotel itself was charming. The checkin clerk could of been a little more welcoming. The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Also stayed at the Strater and would probally pick it over this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your review it is so helpful for me when people share their experience at the General Palmer Hotel. It is how I learn what is important to travelers, even if it is just for a quick stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a very old hotel trying to fit in todays fast pace world. Overall they did a nice job, room was clean, well outfitted, but small by today's standards. All day coffee bar was a cut above, teddy bears in every room were cute and the location is a 10. Reservation was messed up, hairdryers need to be replaced, room tough to control temp and the people smoking on the decks were offensive (not the hotels fault).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review of the General Palmer Hotel. I do sincerely appreciate your thoughts and comments, they are always helpful to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed Aug 11&12 2012 after meeting a charming gentleman and his son during our Royal Gorge train trip. He suggested the Durango-Silverton train trip was the best. We headed towards Durango, booked the last 2 tickets for Monday am, then chose the general Palmer which had the last room. One of many synchronicities during our trip. We had a two bedroom room in the Royal annex which was very comfortable, clean, authentic furnishings, luxury bedding and quiet Word of caution, there is no elevator in the annex My husband has braces on both legs but maneuvered the many steps. The bellman offered assistance as well opened the door to the hotel lobby everything. Autumn checked us in professionally and welcoming. The lobby and breakfast sun room is beautiful. Excellent coffee, teas, and cookies are available during the day and evening.
Location is perfect. Next to the Durango-Silverton railroad and convenient to all stores etc downtown. Breakfast was serve yourself: biscuits&gravy, oatmeal with all the trimmings, fresh fruit, store bought muffins bagels etc, yogurt, orange juice great coffee teas and real china. The breakfast was disappointing that there was not any protein such as hard boiled eggs, bacon or better even smoked salmon and capers, cream cheese and cheeses. The $185.00 per night should command a better breakfast to match the graciousness and luxury of this fantastic hotel
We appreciated the private parking. We would definitely stay again and recommend highly.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs chose the main hotel. All that is needed is to insure your reservation states main hotel due to mobility We enjoyed the annex which stayed true to period furnishings and was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you so very much for your glowing review, i know that these days especially time is very valuable and I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a lovely old hotel that sits on the main street of Durango which means that you are right in the middle of the activities! Yes, the train station is behind the hotel but after staying here 3 different times in the past 8 years, I must say that I was never bothered by the train whistle! The breakfast setting is so pleasant with a choice of a dining table or pretty sun porch. The breakfast offerings are good. I do agree that the new beds are wayyyyyyy too high -what a huge mistake someone made! While they are very comfortable I think that I would cut off the legs!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for you r review, and thank you for staying with us throughout the years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The General Palmer has everything you'd want when visiting Durango. Great time period hotel that is immaculately kept, clean grounds, breakfast & quality rooms with all the nice fittings. The staff is professional and very helpful. It's well located & overall, fairly priced. I would only recommend staying in the main hotel, as the other wing I think is newer and may not have the character the main hotel does.

Room Tip: Check out the room first
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hercules9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Hercules9:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate it very much and I am so glad to hear that you had such a great time staying with us. We all try very hard and love what we do, happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and Durango as a city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews