We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Loved zip lining over the river” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Animas River

Animas River
Book In Advance
and up
4-Hour Rafting Trip Down the Animas River
Ranked #7 of 66 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
180 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Loved zip lining over the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

While visiting Durango we saw much of the river in different locations. Next visit will definitely have to go on a raft. Saw people rafting from the train, looked Ike fun.

Visited August 2013
Thank swf927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went to Durango for my Mom's 70th birthday and did the water rafting on a whim. We were really not expecting too much. Let me tell you that we had a BLAST. It actually was the best part of the trip for me. Mild to Wild had excellent customer service and were very helpful. The process seemed a little unorganized at first but I think that was because it was all new to us. Our guide was Nick and we really lucked out with him. He was very informative about the river and its history. He was polite and funny and made us feel safe on the river. I felt he was very professional and was a true Guide!! They have the option of wearing a wet suit but we decided not to at the last minute. Although the water is very cold, if it is a hot day then it feels really good. I would consider wearing one if it is a real cloudy day or on the cooler side. Would use them again in a heart beat! Mom had a fabulous birthday thanks so Mild to Wild!!

Visited June 2014
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rafting on the Animas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Mild to Wild Raft company-guide Hannah! Awesome day! Highly recommend. Great lunch provided during the whole day trip as well.

Thank Cuatromonos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss this river!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My daughter and I went white water rafting on the river which is gorgeous. We followed it up the next day by renting bikes in town and riding along the bike trail along the river for a couple of hours. There are great spots to stop along the way to take pictures or even have lunch. Keep in mind that for every downhill part of the trail, there is an uphill to get back and we had to walk our bikes every once in a while!

Visited June 2014
2 Thank HerCheerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mild to Wild Rafting Company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Four close friends decided a year ago to find a white water rafting adventure that we could all meet up for and experience the first time together. Two of us traveled from Phoenix and two of us flew in from NYC. I started doing a lot of research on locations, rafting companies, river rapid quality, customer reviews, cost, duration, etc. After reading all the wonderful reviews for Mild to Wild, and reviewing the different rafting trip options, we settled on the Upper Animas 2 day overnight rafting trip leaving out of Durango, CO. It offered the highest rapid classes, Class IV & V, requiring that we were all physically fit and good swimmers, 2 days of rafting, which was most desirable since we are all traveling into Durango from out of state. We had our own raft, 4 of us plus our guide Josh, and there was another boat of four rafters plus their guide Rob, traveling down the river and camping with us. We also had a safety kayaker, Dave, who was part of our rafting group to assist with any and all issues that might come up on the river and at camp. I just have to say that our guides were ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!! Great guys, tons of fun, very personable, extremely competent and knowledgeable about both rafting and history of the river and area. We couldn’t ask for anything more! We always felt very safe and prepared for all the class V rapids and received excellent instruction while scouting the class V rapids before attempting them. Our orientation the day prior to our trip departure made us feel much more at ease and comfortable with what to expect. At camp our guides got us settled quickly and comfortably, and prepared five star meals. We were actually very pleasantly surprised as to the superb quality of all the meals, especially on the limited means of camping in the wilderness. We are all pretty picky eaters and love everything they cooked up. The sights we saw and the adventures we experienced would never be possible without the vantage point of being on the river…..snow-capped mountains, spectacular forestry, clean crisp white water, and the list could go on and on. Once the rafting had ended, we enjoyed the opportunity to return to town via the famous Durango Silverton cast iron train, where we saw breathtaking views of the mountains, gorges, river in the comfort of a warm seat over the short 30 min train ride. We highly recommend Mild to Wild as a rafting company and can’t wait to do other trips in the years to come and will absolutely request the same guides. Josh, Dave and Rob made our first rafting experience a memorable and fantastic time! Thanks guys!! Eddie & Eric

Visited May 2014
3 Thank ewlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing