We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clear rippling water” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Animas River

Animas River
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.00*
and up
4-Hour Rafting Trip Down the Animas River
Ranked #7 of 64 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clear rippling water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We crossed the river at several locations as we were going on a short drive for dinner. The water is clear, rushing over the rocks, traffic light and the springtime in the mountains is great. The meadows were green from snowmelt. Just fabulous.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank texaslady523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    50
    6
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood Springs, CO
Level Contributor
107 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Walked along river outside Doubletree Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The walkway is right outside your door if you're on the first floor. We walked upriver for about 20 minutes each way. It was April so the river wasn't running high yet there were kayakers in the water. Despite the trees not being leafed out, there are lots of things to see-a beautiful old power plant, a skate park, tacks in the concrete from some small animal, bridges to cross. It was a nice walk considering we had spent a few hours in the car coming from Ouray. Parts are concrete so if you're a runner, you may want to walk these parts and run when you can be on the side or on asphalt. It's very scenic and pretty......

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank misha_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great little river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Animas runs down from Silverton and is beautiful all along the narrow gauge train ride. In dry years, river activity ends by mid-July. Otherwise, there is rafting, kayaking, tubing along the lower part of the river.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank li m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
375 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Beautiful In and Out of Season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have been to Durango during the Summer, Fall, and Winter. The Animas River is always in the background and is breathtakingly beautiful. It has been pretty low over the past year, but that is only because the lack of snow. Right now it is partially iced over and is stunning under the sun (See Pics). Enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank zeke h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty to look at--not a real river rat's dream”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

No real rapids to speak of at the time we were there. We ran the river as part of a family reunion activity and we had fun because we made it fun but the river run itself was a disappointment. You could get out at times and swim (or float next to the raft) if you wanted (if the water wasn't too cold for your tastes) because the rafts go really slow for most of the trip. Better to check as to when the river would be running high and fast to get some "white" water to really make it a fun ride. Check with several sources (we did not check several sources) about the time of year that the river is full or high so that you are not disappointed if you want a real whitewater river run and not a slow boat to China or whatever.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RooneAlredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing