We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty to look at--not a real river rat's dream”
Review of Animas River

Animas River
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.00*
and up
4-Hour Rafting Trip Down the Animas River
Ranked #6 of 66 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty to look at--not a real river rat's dream”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

No real rapids to speak of at the time we were there. We ran the river as part of a family reunion activity and we had fun because we made it fun but the river run itself was a disappointment. You could get out at times and swim (or float next to the raft) if you wanted (if the water wasn't too cold for your tastes) because the rafts go really slow for most of the trip. Better to check as to when the river would be running high and fast to get some "white" water to really make it a fun ride. Check with several sources (we did not check several sources) about the time of year that the river is full or high so that you are not disappointed if you want a real whitewater river run and not a slow boat to China or whatever.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RooneAlredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    50
    6
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, CO
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Souls Lost and Found”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great town run. Upper run scary but amazing. A crown feature of Durango. Come when it's Animas River Days in June - fun time - rodeo boating, down river racing and more.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank durangotravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The river trail!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Wow! what a great asset to Durango! We were able to spend a couple of hours riding our bikes along this scenic trail right along the river. The autumn colors were stunning, a great way to spend the afternoon!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank perky149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful river”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Blue ribbon trout fishing, and class five white water( on the upper) more gentile rafting on the lower for the family ,what's not to love?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bubbaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“SAD!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Left 2 days for Durango, so I could white water raft the upper Animas. Rockwood(my choice)Needleton or Silverton. The USA had a nasty drought this summer. Rivers were pitiful and the outfitters are hurting. Guess I'll go back some spring and try again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing