We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Enjoyable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Animas River Trail

Animas River Trail
Book In Advance
$57.00*
and up
Family Friendly Animas River Raft Trip
Ranked #4 of 66 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

the River Trail is July was picture perfect weather and scenery with benches along the way for resting and relaxing while watching the river run and the rafters pass by. Interesting things to see and do along the way.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank breezy779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    75
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful way to spend a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

You can ride or walk this paved trial. It loops around the through Durango. There are interesting places to sit and watch the river and wildlife and catch a picnic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jacqueyiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice trail for a bit of exercise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

For a change of pace during our SW road trip, we rented bikes (at Pedal the Peaks, they were super nice & efficient) and rode almost to the end of the trail & back from near Albertson's. It's was lovely, safe and easy to follow the trail. We were in the area to visit Mesa Verde NP but we loved Durango and ended up spending an extra day in the area. Afterward, we went rafting with Durango Rafting, which was also tons of fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

enjoyed running and biking the trail right along the river. Lots of shade and nice views. Historical markers on the trail were fun to stop and read.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bckmn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bike it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a tree-lined, 6-mile path along the Animas River. It is so awesome. There are many restaurants and attractions to stop at on your journey. For extra fun, you can rent bikes (we used Mile High Rentals which is close to the path). This was a highlight of our trip in Durango.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing