We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can go for miles!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animas River Trail

Animas River Trail
Book In Advance
$57*
and up
Animas River Rafting Trip
Ranked #4 of 68 things to do in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You can go for miles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wonderful for biking, and walking. You can get on this trail many places throughout Durango, and get off as well. Part winds through the edge of downtown, part goes through the newer area, to the South East, and part north. We biked from the Home Depot one day, going North, and another day started downtown and headed out. Every town should have this type of attraction.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    62
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paved trail, great for casual bike riding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Running generally along the river, this paved trail passes a variety of town, park and open areas. There are nicely landscaped sections and the town seems to be actively upgrading the trail. So, when we were there, several short sections were being rebuilt. In some areas there is very nice landscaping and some art. Great way to see the river, and the rafters. In some parts it runs along the Durango & Silverton railroad tracks, so pay attention. Good place to see the trains if you know the times. Be aware that this is not a flat path, and often has uphill stretches. You should bring water or get drinks along the way in town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grognard72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“PLEASANT GET-AWAY FROM TOWN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Starting our Durango visit at the Information Center by the river and too early to check into the hotel, we decided to walk along the trail northwards towards the town. I believe that the trail goes quite a few miles in either direction. We watched some of the rafters above the rapids and kayakers who were working the rapids. There are a lot of birds around which we spotted with binoculars. We ended our walk at the edge of town and went onto Main Street to find somewhere to eat. If we'd had more time, we would have taken the opportunity to explore this lovely trail further.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaWanderer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ofallon, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Bike Path Through Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Definitely worth a bike rental to ride along the Animas River through Durango. 7 miles of paved path with rolling hills and a lot of flat stretchs so its a fairly easy ride. Go out early as a lot of folks like to use the path later in the day. Great way to access the entire town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“interesting brief walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We ate a picnic lunch at a Durango park as we enjoyed people watching along the Animas trail and the kayaks passing by on the Animas River. We walked briefly on the short trail, unfortunately needed to cut our time short there. I think the trail is only about a mile and probably very worthwhile as it meanders though Durango..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animas River Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing